Squash and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I always, always get rave reviews when I make this dish for company. My family loves it too, including my picky kids! Instead of mace, I add 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and I never use anything but Granny Smith apples. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Not quite a five star but more than a four. I used about a 1/4 t allspice, 1/4 t nutmeg, and 1/2 t cinnamon to replace mace. Next time, I think I'll cube the squash to get better mixing with the apples. I don't know why it said to sprinkle the spice mix. It was like a thick sauce that had to be spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
The mixture for this squash is wonderful but there is not enough of it. Also it is a bear to clean the dish you cook it in. I would make again without the apples and double the mix and coat the pan. Great flavor in the surgar mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also altered this recipe a bit by using nutmeg instead of mace. I also had some boneless chicken breast, which I partially cooked first, and laid on top of the squash/apple/spice mix. My son said DO NOT throw away this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
What an easy treat...the hardest part is being the squash. I actually goofed and mixed everything together but it still tasted delish! Also, sprinkled toasted almonds on top to add some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
much too sweet for my family. My children thought they were having dessert for supper so that made them pretty happy! I like the combo of apples and squash, but I'll cut the sugar in 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
So easy to make ! I used Butternut Squash, and basic red apples (whichever red apple that was on sale at the market). A trick to easily peel a butternut, is to boil it (whole) in radily boiling water for 4 minutes, remove from water, let cool, and then the skin peels of easly with a potatoes peeler. Trick: The blanching softens the peel, and makes for easy peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnySoCal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Delicious! The apples add nice flavor; I used cinnamon, fresh nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I am in love with this recipe!! It is a must have for anyone who even remotely likes squash. I followed the recommendations and substituted the mace with cinnamon and nutmeg, and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I made it for Canadian Thanksgiving and everyone was extremely impressed...most everyone present asked for the recipe and there were no leftovers. A truly wonderful alternative to candied yams and much more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hylton Kemp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States