Squash Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
We made this recipe last night and loved it! I substituted shredded parm for cheddar because that is all I had at home, but it was a great substitution. I didn't not think it was a difficult recipe at all. I just didn't completely stuff the chicken when I browned them and instead stuffed them when in the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great flavor, but as others have said, very hard to brown the chicken without the filling spilling out. I think I will do as others have said and brown the chicken first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I ended up making it home a lot earlier than normal so I figured I give this recipe a try. I made just a few changes. I seasoned the veggies with garlic powder and lemon pepper (just a hint of each). I seasoned the chicken with smoked chipotle seasoning before stuffing it with the veggie mix. I coated the chicken and then browned it. I used olive oil. Before placing the chicken in the oven I added a small pc of baby swiss cheese on top of each chicken. Chicken was flavorful, moist and delicious. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because of the length of time it takes to make it. On a busy work/school night making this would have delayed dinner from being served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I subbed mushrooms for the bell peppers, added some garlic and used Kombocha squash. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This recipe was really good. So glad I found it. As I had all the ingredients or alternatives in stock. I happen to have some frozen organic butternut squash that I used instead of the acorn squash, a few mushrooms, red bell pepper instead of green, onions, and celery. I'm doing low carbs, so no flour or breadcrumbs. Also omitted the cheese. I didn't brown the chicken breast first. I pounded it thin, as another reader did. Seasoned it with salt, ground pepper, garlic powder, sage, and onion powder, sprayed some olive oil with the misto. Rolling the stuffing and baked for about 45 mins. It tastes like a healthy holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very good. We didn't stuff the chicken with the squash mixture, we just made it as a side. I would use a different color pepper than green, would give it more of a sweet taste. We also used butternut squash which was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Wille
Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was so different and amazing flavor!! my whole family loved it even my 6 yr olds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made a mess, hard to keep the stuffing in the chicken, flour everywhere and more work than I thought it was worth. Chicken came out moist enough, though I did add some olive oil on top to keep it from drying out too much, but my friend had a 2" piece that was undercooked. Overall, probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiediedgirl
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was very good. The recipe is a keeper, but will make some changes. I will roll the chicken up or bake on top of stuffing mixture next time.. it was hard to brown the stuffed chicken...messy. After reading other reviews I was afraid of the chicken being bland, so i drizzled some italian dressing on the chicken a few hours before i prepared it and also used season breadcrumbs and a flour mixture for the coating. I used zucchini instead of the squash, yellow banana peppers instead of the green bell and portabella mushrooms instead of the celery, and parm. cheese instead of chedder-- all because thats what I had on hand.. and it turned out GREAT!! Next time I will put it under the broiler for a few minutes at the end. And the stuffing was excellent.. will also use as a side dish on occasion. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiediedgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was soooo delicious!! It tasted like I had been slaving all day on it, when in fact I was just trying to use up some things out of my frig!! I used all the ingredients and made as written, only I scaled back to one breast. Oh, I did cut it then pound it out, so I guess I did that different. I also fried it in a cast iron so I transferred it straight from the stove to the oven. One pot dish. Gotta love that too! I will be making this one again very soon. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States