Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was really good! I made it as close to the original as I possibly could. I didn't think the chili powder was too much. Great flavor! I used canned diced tomatoes, canned beans, bottled lemon juice and ground cumin instead of seeds, which made it so easy. I finished it up in the crock-pot and served it to my church family. They loved it! To make peeling the squash a little easier: cut it in half, zap it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. After it cools, cut into lengthwise pieces and use the vegetable peeler. It will be a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
In my opinion this was excellant! Fast and easy to prepare after long hard day at work. It was sweet and spicy, very filling. Great for a vegetarian who still has to prepare meat for the rest of the family. It will for sure be one I will use over and over again. Also going to suggest local resturant to try it,they need more new vegetarian dishes. Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
Interesting combination of spices... hearty but i just couldn't eat much of it because it was too hot- 2 tablespoons of chili powder! I would use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
Very good, but next time I think I'd use a little less chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent! This recipe is wonderful, and it makes the house smell terrific. I made this with canned tomatos and canned beans. I think it would also be good with lentils. I did add about 1 tsp of sugar to cut the acid just a little. Also, I cooked the squash in the oven just long enough to soften before peeling. It was a lot less work. I added sweet italian sausage, but wouldn't do that again - it tasted better as a vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This stew took 3+ hours to make, and was so spicy that it was not palettable. We just couldn't eat it. I think you meant teaspoon of pepper not Tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I thought this was good but my "guys" didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good! Just make sure to go light on the chili powder and add more to taste. I roasted the squash at 375 for 20-25 min before adding to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe. I made a few minor adjustments but the spices were perfect once I decreased the chili powder. Here's what I did: I used buttercup squash instead of acorn and cooked it a bit in order to be able to peel it. I used kidney beans because I had no pinto beans and I used the bean cooking water instead of water. I also used canned tomatoes. I think that the recipe would be really good with a bit of stewing beef cut into small chunks but it really is great the way that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The flavors of this soup didn't go that well together; it tasted like just a chili powder and water mixture, with an emphasis on the chili powder. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States