Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This stew was pretty good. It was just simple comfort food. It was time consuming however to peel off all the skin off the squash so next time I might try to do that a different way. We followed the recipe except using black soy beans instead of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
LOVED IT! I used canned beans and tomato's because my dad said peeling and seeding them is a hassle,(though after peeling an acorn squash I don't know if anything would have seemed like a hassle!)and it came out really well. I hope that it is supposed to have a lemony taste because that is what I ended up with. I wasn't expecting that out of all the stuff that's in it but it was a nice surprise. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This soup was so yummy. I used leftover squash which cut down the cook time, and I added one more cup of water and a boullion cube for salt. My whole family enjoyed this, and it was a prefect fall soup that we will enjoy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Great combo of spices. I found it a little too hot, but that's just my taste. I added ground cumin instead of the toasted seeds, a peeled, seeded and chopped cucumber, and a red pepper as well. Very good, but next time I'll cut the chili by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
We added zucchini to this for some extra green vegetables and it was delicious! We sauteed the onions in a pan and then put all the ingredients in our crock pot and a few hours later we had a delicious dinner. My husband and I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This was really good! I was a bit skeptical of the ingredients but it was a fresh, healthy meal with a neat blend of sweet and spicy. I added both green and yellow squash for more vegetables and served over steamed white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I searched high and low for a "squash, corn, and bean stew" I used to eat in college. This fits the bill! I throw in a package of frozen corn during the last 20 minutes or so. So very yummy with hot white rice, cornbread or a fresh baked loaf. I kick up the spice with some cayenne but thats just my taste. Excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
Misread the recipe and after halving the recipe used 1 TEASPOON of chili flakes not 1 tablespoon which was the perfect quantity. This was absolutely lovely, very thick and an unusual combination of spices. I used butternut squash and cannellini beans as this is what I had in - also added 1 teaspoon of tomato puree. Would make the full amount next time and mash the remainder as a pate. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I added tomato paste instead of tomatoes and I had to keep adding water to thin it down to a stew consistency...I also had to cook quite a bit longer to make the squash tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The flavors of this soup didn't go that well together; it tasted like just a chili powder and water mixture, with an emphasis on the chili powder. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States