Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This stew was pretty good. It was just simple comfort food. It was time consuming however to peel off all the skin off the squash so next time I might try to do that a different way. We followed the recipe except using black soy beans instead of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
LOVED IT! I used canned beans and tomato's because my dad said peeling and seeding them is a hassle,(though after peeling an acorn squash I don't know if anything would have seemed like a hassle!)and it came out really well. I hope that it is supposed to have a lemony taste because that is what I ended up with. I wasn't expecting that out of all the stuff that's in it but it was a nice surprise. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This soup was so yummy. I used leftover squash which cut down the cook time, and I added one more cup of water and a boullion cube for salt. My whole family enjoyed this, and it was a prefect fall soup that we will enjoy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Great combo of spices. I found it a little too hot, but that's just my taste. I added ground cumin instead of the toasted seeds, a peeled, seeded and chopped cucumber, and a red pepper as well. Very good, but next time I'll cut the chili by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
We added zucchini to this for some extra green vegetables and it was delicious! We sauteed the onions in a pan and then put all the ingredients in our crock pot and a few hours later we had a delicious dinner. My husband and I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This was really good! I was a bit skeptical of the ingredients but it was a fresh, healthy meal with a neat blend of sweet and spicy. I added both green and yellow squash for more vegetables and served over steamed white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I searched high and low for a "squash, corn, and bean stew" I used to eat in college. This fits the bill! I throw in a package of frozen corn during the last 20 minutes or so. So very yummy with hot white rice, cornbread or a fresh baked loaf. I kick up the spice with some cayenne but thats just my taste. Excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
Misread the recipe and after halving the recipe used 1 TEASPOON of chili flakes not 1 tablespoon which was the perfect quantity. This was absolutely lovely, very thick and an unusual combination of spices. I used butternut squash and cannellini beans as this is what I had in - also added 1 teaspoon of tomato puree. Would make the full amount next time and mash the remainder as a pate. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I added tomato paste instead of tomatoes and I had to keep adding water to thin it down to a stew consistency...I also had to cook quite a bit longer to make the squash tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The flavors of this soup didn't go that well together; it tasted like just a chili powder and water mixture, with an emphasis on the chili powder. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States