Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This soup was so yummy. I used leftover squash which cut down the cook time, and I added one more cup of water and a boullion cube for salt. My whole family enjoyed this, and it was a prefect fall soup that we will enjoy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Great combo of spices. I found it a little too hot, but that's just my taste. I added ground cumin instead of the toasted seeds, a peeled, seeded and chopped cucumber, and a red pepper as well. Very good, but next time I'll cut the chili by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
We added zucchini to this for some extra green vegetables and it was delicious! We sauteed the onions in a pan and then put all the ingredients in our crock pot and a few hours later we had a delicious dinner. My husband and I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This was really good! I was a bit skeptical of the ingredients but it was a fresh, healthy meal with a neat blend of sweet and spicy. I added both green and yellow squash for more vegetables and served over steamed white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I searched high and low for a "squash, corn, and bean stew" I used to eat in college. This fits the bill! I throw in a package of frozen corn during the last 20 minutes or so. So very yummy with hot white rice, cornbread or a fresh baked loaf. I kick up the spice with some cayenne but thats just my taste. Excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
Misread the recipe and after halving the recipe used 1 TEASPOON of chili flakes not 1 tablespoon which was the perfect quantity. This was absolutely lovely, very thick and an unusual combination of spices. I used butternut squash and cannellini beans as this is what I had in - also added 1 teaspoon of tomato puree. Would make the full amount next time and mash the remainder as a pate. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I added tomato paste instead of tomatoes and I had to keep adding water to thin it down to a stew consistency...I also had to cook quite a bit longer to make the squash tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The flavors of this soup didn't go that well together; it tasted like just a chili powder and water mixture, with an emphasis on the chili powder. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This stew took 3+ hours to make, and was so spicy that it was not palettable. We just couldn't eat it. I think you meant teaspoon of pepper not Tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This stew is WICKED GOOD! Spices are great, ingredients are wonderful. We enjoy it more and more every time we make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States