Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I finally became a member to add my review. I thought this was really good. I added about 1-2 tablespoons of brown sugar and oregano to round out the spices. Contrary to many of the other reviews, I think the amount of chili powder is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Excellent, rich flavor in a healthy dish! Yes, canned tomatoes are easiest as is cumin powder. Even better the next day. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Whoever thinks this recipe is too spicy, remember, it's chili POWDER, NOT chili PEPPER!!! I used ground ancho chiles and it came out fine. I omitted the cinnamon and tried a few other things to make it my own. This is a good basic recipe that can be tweaked and expanded on as you see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was really good. I used a yellow onion, and a mixture of canned and fresh tomatoes. I also used a potato masher on the squash before serving; this gave it a much thicker texture. My picky boyfriend who turned his nose up at the mention of squash ate 2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I cut the chili powder amount in half and it cam out great for those not into spicey foods. This stew goes well with brown rice, so if you ever needed a reason to cook up brown rice now you've got one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good! Just make sure to go light on the chili powder and add more to taste. I roasted the squash at 375 for 20-25 min before adding to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I have to agree it looks kind of unappetizing, and I really didn't like the smell of it. Everything changed once I took the first bite. It was surprising flavourful. A tad spicy, but I tolerated it. Goes well with a nice glass of milk to tone down the spicyness. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe was made for me by a friend...and wow, was it ever a hit! I made it a few more times, and each time, people would ask for the recipe. It has really made its rounds through my circles. Thanks so much for an easy crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This has a wonderful flavor. I did not find it spicy, in fact, I added extra chili powder, cumin, and cinnamon to give it a little more flavor. It would have been better if I had gotten all of the skin of. Some parts weren't peeled all the way and we didn't like the rough feeling. I baked the acorn squash 20 minutes and let it cool and it made it easier to peel. We will deiintely use this again, but I might use sweet potatoes so I don't have to deal with the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe. I made a few minor adjustments but the spices were perfect once I decreased the chili powder. Here's what I did: I used buttercup squash instead of acorn and cooked it a bit in order to be able to peel it. I used kidney beans because I had no pinto beans and I used the bean cooking water instead of water. I also used canned tomatoes. I think that the recipe would be really good with a bit of stewing beef cut into small chunks but it really is great the way that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States