Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Loved it! Very versatile and easy to customize based on what you've got in the fridge. Used 1+ T chili powder and found it pleasantly spicy. Added handful of chopped fresh cilantro at the end for color contrast. Didn't seed tomatoes, just threw in frozen (peeled) garden fresh ones. Omitted water. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good. It's MUCH easier to bake and scoop out the soft squash and it's ready to use, rather than peeling and boiling it. Peeling a squash is not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I finally became a member to add my review. I thought this was really good. I added about 1-2 tablespoons of brown sugar and oregano to round out the spices. Contrary to many of the other reviews, I think the amount of chili powder is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Excellent, rich flavor in a healthy dish! Yes, canned tomatoes are easiest as is cumin powder. Even better the next day. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Whoever thinks this recipe is too spicy, remember, it's chili POWDER, NOT chili PEPPER!!! I used ground ancho chiles and it came out fine. I omitted the cinnamon and tried a few other things to make it my own. This is a good basic recipe that can be tweaked and expanded on as you see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was really good. I used a yellow onion, and a mixture of canned and fresh tomatoes. I also used a potato masher on the squash before serving; this gave it a much thicker texture. My picky boyfriend who turned his nose up at the mention of squash ate 2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I cut the chili powder amount in half and it cam out great for those not into spicey foods. This stew goes well with brown rice, so if you ever needed a reason to cook up brown rice now you've got one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good! Just make sure to go light on the chili powder and add more to taste. I roasted the squash at 375 for 20-25 min before adding to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I have to agree it looks kind of unappetizing, and I really didn't like the smell of it. Everything changed once I took the first bite. It was surprising flavourful. A tad spicy, but I tolerated it. Goes well with a nice glass of milk to tone down the spicyness. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe was made for me by a friend...and wow, was it ever a hit! I made it a few more times, and each time, people would ask for the recipe. It has really made its rounds through my circles. Thanks so much for an easy crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States