Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This dish was just OK - I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I love the cinnamon flavor in this! I used only half the tomatoes for cooking; I prefer them raw, so I used them as a garnish. Without the liquid of the tomatoes, this became a thick stew quickly! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the most wonderful stew I have ever had! It has such a wonderful flavor! Unfortunately, it was too much flavor for my husband, who isn't a squash fan. And the kids wouldn't touch it. No accounting for taste! If vegetarian isn't your thing, could substitute chicken broth (vegetable broth good too) for the water, and would be great with a lb of hamburger sauted with the onions, or lb of sliced kielbasa added. Butternut squash has thinner skin so easier to peel than acorn. Just use carrot peeler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
changed the following: 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp chili, 1 tsp cumin seeds, 6 cloves garlic, 3/4 jar tomatoes. Not a soup you can eat a lot of. Next time try adding nutmeg and only 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Also try adding fresh parsely. Try using pork as a base for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I'm so glad I've found a new way to cook acorn squash. This was a big hit. The only changes I mead were that I only put in one tablespoon of chili powder, following other reviewers comments. And I added a can of chicken stock. The one cup of water was just not enough liquid to cover everything that was in the pan. And fresh lemon juice is a must! It brought a nice lift to the heartier flavors. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriannaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made this tonight for my family, sort of...i added chopped carrots and potatoes and skipped the beans, cut the chili powder to a tsp. or so, used canned whole tomatoes, added nutmeg and allspice, a beef bouillon cube and cooked it for about two hours. Delicious! Tastes a lot like a Moroccan tagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Yummy! Full of wonderful flavors! Perfect for theFall season. What a fabulous meatless meal. BUT you never miss the meat, it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Loved it! Very versatile and easy to customize based on what you've got in the fridge. Used 1+ T chili powder and found it pleasantly spicy. Added handful of chopped fresh cilantro at the end for color contrast. Didn't seed tomatoes, just threw in frozen (peeled) garden fresh ones. Omitted water. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good. It's MUCH easier to bake and scoop out the soft squash and it's ready to use, rather than peeling and boiling it. Peeling a squash is not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States