Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Delicious. I left some skin on the acorn squash because I got a little impatient peeling it. While the cooking did soften the skin nicely, some parts are still a little crunchy. Next time I'll peel the entire thing for the sake of consistency. I'll also add chick peas for extra protein. The lemon is such a great touch. Spritz some to taste before eating or use a lemon wedge as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was a great idea...and I have a cure for peeling the squash...don't! It tastes just as good with the peel on and it's that much easier. I made mine in the crock pot and it worked out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
So delicious and different! Definately adding this the the repitoire. Didn't find it to be overly spicy. We added corn and chicken. Just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe. I made a few minor adjustments but the spices were perfect once I decreased the chili powder. Here's what I did: I used buttercup squash instead of acorn and cooked it a bit in order to be able to peel it. I used kidney beans because I had no pinto beans and I used the bean cooking water instead of water. I also used canned tomatoes. I think that the recipe would be really good with a bit of stewing beef cut into small chunks but it really is great the way that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was really good! I made it as close to the original as I possibly could. I didn't think the chili powder was too much. Great flavor! I used canned diced tomatoes, canned beans, bottled lemon juice and ground cumin instead of seeds, which made it so easy. I finished it up in the crock-pot and served it to my church family. They loved it! To make peeling the squash a little easier: cut it in half, zap it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. After it cools, cut into lengthwise pieces and use the vegetable peeler. It will be a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent! This recipe is wonderful, and it makes the house smell terrific. I made this with canned tomatos and canned beans. I think it would also be good with lentils. I did add about 1 tsp of sugar to cut the acid just a little. Also, I cooked the squash in the oven just long enough to soften before peeling. It was a lot less work. I added sweet italian sausage, but wouldn't do that again - it tasted better as a vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This stew is WICKED GOOD! Spices are great, ingredients are wonderful. We enjoy it more and more every time we make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
We added zucchini to this for some extra green vegetables and it was delicious! We sauteed the onions in a pan and then put all the ingredients in our crock pot and a few hours later we had a delicious dinner. My husband and I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Excellent. I tossed in some "panch phoron" an Indian five-spice mixture, with the onion while it sauteed, and threw in some celery and sweet potato, and even my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This has a wonderful flavor. I did not find it spicy, in fact, I added extra chili powder, cumin, and cinnamon to give it a little more flavor. It would have been better if I had gotten all of the skin of. Some parts weren't peeled all the way and we didn't like the rough feeling. I baked the acorn squash 20 minutes and let it cool and it made it easier to peel. We will deiintely use this again, but I might use sweet potatoes so I don't have to deal with the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States