Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was really good! I made it as close to the original as I possibly could. I didn't think the chili powder was too much. Great flavor! I used canned diced tomatoes, canned beans, bottled lemon juice and ground cumin instead of seeds, which made it so easy. I finished it up in the crock-pot and served it to my church family. They loved it! To make peeling the squash a little easier: cut it in half, zap it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. After it cools, cut into lengthwise pieces and use the vegetable peeler. It will be a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
In my opinion this was excellant! Fast and easy to prepare after long hard day at work. It was sweet and spicy, very filling. Great for a vegetarian who still has to prepare meat for the rest of the family. It will for sure be one I will use over and over again. Also going to suggest local resturant to try it,they need more new vegetarian dishes. Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
Interesting combination of spices... hearty but i just couldn't eat much of it because it was too hot- 2 tablespoons of chili powder! I would use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
Very good, but next time I think I'd use a little less chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This stew took 3+ hours to make, and was so spicy that it was not palettable. We just couldn't eat it. I think you meant teaspoon of pepper not Tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent! This recipe is wonderful, and it makes the house smell terrific. I made this with canned tomatos and canned beans. I think it would also be good with lentils. I did add about 1 tsp of sugar to cut the acid just a little. Also, I cooked the squash in the oven just long enough to soften before peeling. It was a lot less work. I added sweet italian sausage, but wouldn't do that again - it tasted better as a vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I thought this was good but my "guys" didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good! Just make sure to go light on the chili powder and add more to taste. I roasted the squash at 375 for 20-25 min before adding to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe. I made a few minor adjustments but the spices were perfect once I decreased the chili powder. Here's what I did: I used buttercup squash instead of acorn and cooked it a bit in order to be able to peel it. I used kidney beans because I had no pinto beans and I used the bean cooking water instead of water. I also used canned tomatoes. I think that the recipe would be really good with a bit of stewing beef cut into small chunks but it really is great the way that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The flavors of this soup didn't go that well together; it tasted like just a chili powder and water mixture, with an emphasis on the chili powder. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States