Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe. I made a few minor adjustments but the spices were perfect once I decreased the chili powder. Here's what I did: I used buttercup squash instead of acorn and cooked it a bit in order to be able to peel it. I used kidney beans because I had no pinto beans and I used the bean cooking water instead of water. I also used canned tomatoes. I think that the recipe would be really good with a bit of stewing beef cut into small chunks but it really is great the way that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent! This recipe is wonderful, and it makes the house smell terrific. I made this with canned tomatos and canned beans. I think it would also be good with lentils. I did add about 1 tsp of sugar to cut the acid just a little. Also, I cooked the squash in the oven just long enough to soften before peeling. It was a lot less work. I added sweet italian sausage, but wouldn't do that again - it tasted better as a vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
sooo hot and spicy - i even reduced the spices by more than half - i think it needs even less spice - i just can't handle it - but other than that it's sooo yummy -- had i used all 2 tbsp of the chili pepper - i'd be crying right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is really good and an interesting combination of ingredients. I have several acorn squash so was trying to find a good use for them. I used canned beans and tomatoes as well as ground cumin. I added water but it felt that it needed some more depth so I added a chicken bullion. It is now simmering away...I did smash some of the squash just to make it even more thick...the way I like it and I may even add some corn as others mentioned. I plan to serve it over brown rice. Thanks for this unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was really good! I made it as close to the original as I possibly could. I didn't think the chili powder was too much. Great flavor! I used canned diced tomatoes, canned beans, bottled lemon juice and ground cumin instead of seeds, which made it so easy. I finished it up in the crock-pot and served it to my church family. They loved it! To make peeling the squash a little easier: cut it in half, zap it in the microwave for a couple of minutes. After it cools, cut into lengthwise pieces and use the vegetable peeler. It will be a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Delicious. I left some skin on the acorn squash because I got a little impatient peeling it. While the cooking did soften the skin nicely, some parts are still a little crunchy. Next time I'll peel the entire thing for the sake of consistency. I'll also add chick peas for extra protein. The lemon is such a great touch. Spritz some to taste before eating or use a lemon wedge as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was a great idea...and I have a cure for peeling the squash...don't! It tastes just as good with the peel on and it's that much easier. I made mine in the crock pot and it worked out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
So delicious and different! Definately adding this the the repitoire. Didn't find it to be overly spicy. We added corn and chicken. Just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Excellent. I tossed in some "panch phoron" an Indian five-spice mixture, with the onion while it sauteed, and threw in some celery and sweet potato, and even my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This stew was pretty good. It was just simple comfort food. It was time consuming however to peel off all the skin off the squash so next time I might try to do that a different way. We followed the recipe except using black soy beans instead of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States