Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good. It's MUCH easier to bake and scoop out the soft squash and it's ready to use, rather than peeling and boiling it. Peeling a squash is not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I finally became a member to add my review. I thought this was really good. I added about 1-2 tablespoons of brown sugar and oregano to round out the spices. Contrary to many of the other reviews, I think the amount of chili powder is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Excellent, rich flavor in a healthy dish! Yes, canned tomatoes are easiest as is cumin powder. Even better the next day. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Whoever thinks this recipe is too spicy, remember, it's chili POWDER, NOT chili PEPPER!!! I used ground ancho chiles and it came out fine. I omitted the cinnamon and tried a few other things to make it my own. This is a good basic recipe that can be tweaked and expanded on as you see fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was really good. I used a yellow onion, and a mixture of canned and fresh tomatoes. I also used a potato masher on the squash before serving; this gave it a much thicker texture. My picky boyfriend who turned his nose up at the mention of squash ate 2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I cut the chili powder amount in half and it cam out great for those not into spicey foods. This stew goes well with brown rice, so if you ever needed a reason to cook up brown rice now you've got one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good! Just make sure to go light on the chili powder and add more to taste. I roasted the squash at 375 for 20-25 min before adding to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I have to agree it looks kind of unappetizing, and I really didn't like the smell of it. Everything changed once I took the first bite. It was surprising flavourful. A tad spicy, but I tolerated it. Goes well with a nice glass of milk to tone down the spicyness. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe was made for me by a friend...and wow, was it ever a hit! I made it a few more times, and each time, people would ask for the recipe. It has really made its rounds through my circles. Thanks so much for an easy crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This has a wonderful flavor. I did not find it spicy, in fact, I added extra chili powder, cumin, and cinnamon to give it a little more flavor. It would have been better if I had gotten all of the skin of. Some parts weren't peeled all the way and we didn't like the rough feeling. I baked the acorn squash 20 minutes and let it cool and it made it easier to peel. We will deiintely use this again, but I might use sweet potatoes so I don't have to deal with the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States