Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I just made this and can't believe how good it is! Perfect way to use the overabundance of yellow squash. I didn't have any bell peppers ripe in my garden, so I used some dehydrated cherry bomb (slightly less spicy than jalapenos) instead and it was AWESOME! I'm freezing it, and when we eat it, we'll add chicken or beef, and some other veggies like peas or tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This soup is SO YUMMY!!!! I have a squash plant that went crazy this summer. I used 45 little yellow squashes between 3-5 inches long, left in seeds since they are so small and doubled the recipe. I plan on making more and freezing it to use this winter. I really like it!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I just made this with my fresh squash from my garden and OH MY.. it was SOO good.. I did't have bellpepper, so I left that out.. and used a little less velveeta cheese, but it is so savory and good.. with just a pinch of pepper and salt.... MMMMM.. great as a cheese type sauce too! I made this again for a second time and I added a can of corn instead of the bellpepper.. and it was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry Springs, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I really liked this soup....even my husband enjoyed it...and he doesn't like yellow squash. The recipe is great as written...and guessing easy on the pantry for substutions. Happy to have another way to use squash AND a quick & easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe turned out Great! I never imagined that a yellow squash soup could be so tasty! I used summer squash we received from a neighbor and left in the seeds without any problems (they all pureed with everything else!). I also used some Monterrey Jack cheese to bring out the bell pepper. This recipe is amazing and a perfect way to use up a profusion of summer gourds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
First let me say, "WOW"! I certainly had an overabundance of summer squash this year and after putting all my tried and true recipes to the test I was still left with a lot of summer squash, so......looking at the 5 squash still sitting on my counter, I decided to try something different and I just happened to have and onion, a pepper and some cheddar cheese, so I figured, why not? This is sensational. In fact, I would run out and buy summer squash in the winter to make this recipe. My husband loved it! Thanks so much for a great addition to my squash recipe collection. I can't wait to try it out on guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was much more yummy than I thought it would be. I used zucchini and added ham. Also does great in the crock pot, just add less water and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyRH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The first two time I made this, I used shredded sharp cheddar and my family and I LOVED it. Then I made it once using the processed cheese that the recipe calls for. My husband still liked it, but I didn't like it at all. I'm really glad I tried it with regular cheese first, because I would not have made it a second time. I still gave this recipe 5 stars because it is SO good using regular cheese...my husband said he could eat it that way every day. Too bad the regular cheese makes it so fattening. It does need added salt and a good bit of pepper when not using the processed cheese, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My family loved this...not big veggie eaters, either! Made as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblanch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was de-lish! I had three quarts of yellow butterneck squash that didn't seal so I used that and tripled the recipe to can. I sauteed the onion, green and red pepper for color and garlic in some butter, then drained two of the quarts and used liquid from the third. I did not drain that off. To puree I used an immersion blender and didn't completely puree either to retain texture. I also steamed some cauliflowerettes and added that at the end for more texture but probably won't next time, just cleaning out the garden! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States