Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I steamed all the veges instead of boiling. I threw in some carrots and a few green beans as well. I used half processed cheese and half extra sharp cheddar. I think it would be good with bacon crumbles on top. I shared the recipe with a friend of mine and her family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We used 2 cups low-fat shredded cheese and 4 oz Oikos yogurt to make it a little healthier and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe for the first batch. My family loved it! I'm making another batch this weekend w/some home grown herbs. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is very good without the cheese also. I added a little thyme to give that slow cooked flavor. I think instead of water next time I will try chicken stock - so many things to do with this recipe. I am going to bottle some of this for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
We used one cup of cheddar cheese and a splash of cream, instead of the processed cheese. Mmm mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I was very surprised how good this tastes. Wow, my husband even loved it. I did add more peppers and some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My family loved this...not big veggie eaters, either! Made as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblanch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was de-lish! I had three quarts of yellow butterneck squash that didn't seal so I used that and tripled the recipe to can. I sauteed the onion, green and red pepper for color and garlic in some butter, then drained two of the quarts and used liquid from the third. I did not drain that off. To puree I used an immersion blender and didn't completely puree either to retain texture. I also steamed some cauliflowerettes and added that at the end for more texture but probably won't next time, just cleaning out the garden! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I really liked this soup....even my husband enjoyed it...and he doesn't like yellow squash. The recipe is great as written...and guessing easy on the pantry for substutions. Happy to have another way to use squash AND a quick & easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The first two time I made this, I used shredded sharp cheddar and my family and I LOVED it. Then I made it once using the processed cheese that the recipe calls for. My husband still liked it, but I didn't like it at all. I'm really glad I tried it with regular cheese first, because I would not have made it a second time. I still gave this recipe 5 stars because it is SO good using regular cheese...my husband said he could eat it that way every day. Too bad the regular cheese makes it so fattening. It does need added salt and a good bit of pepper when not using the processed cheese, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States