Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is the only way my kids and husband will eat squash. I omit the green bell pepper and add whole wheat alphabet noodles, and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was a terrific base to start with! I'm rating this recipe on its potential rather than the way it turned out for me cuz I think I messed up and used too much squash--the flavor was very bland. We have canned cheddar cheese powder, like in those pre-packaged mac and cheese dinners. Even with the Velveeta per the recipe, I ended up stirring in about 3/4 c. of the powdered cheese, along with the same amount of milk and about 1/2 c. butter. I didn't use the bell pepper, but added extra onion. I used an immersion blender to puree it (easier clean-up). After all the additions and heating it through, I added a little tarragon, basil, and coarsely ground black pepper. For serving, we sprinkled a little buttered bread crumbs on top. We all loved it and we will be making it again, and again (we've LOTS of frozen squash and this is a great way to use it). It made enough to feed the five of us (two teens and a 6 year old that eats like a teen!) with at least enough left over to feed three of us for lunch tomorrow. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I steamed all the veges instead of boiling. I threw in some carrots and a few green beans as well. I used half processed cheese and half extra sharp cheddar. I think it would be good with bacon crumbles on top. I shared the recipe with a friend of mine and her family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We used 2 cups low-fat shredded cheese and 4 oz Oikos yogurt to make it a little healthier and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe for the first batch. My family loved it! I'm making another batch this weekend w/some home grown herbs. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is very good without the cheese also. I added a little thyme to give that slow cooked flavor. I think instead of water next time I will try chicken stock - so many things to do with this recipe. I am going to bottle some of this for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
We used one cup of cheddar cheese and a splash of cream, instead of the processed cheese. Mmm mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I was very surprised how good this tastes. Wow, my husband even loved it. I did add more peppers and some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My family loved this...not big veggie eaters, either! Made as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblanch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was de-lish! I had three quarts of yellow butterneck squash that didn't seal so I used that and tripled the recipe to can. I sauteed the onion, green and red pepper for color and garlic in some butter, then drained two of the quarts and used liquid from the third. I did not drain that off. To puree I used an immersion blender and didn't completely puree either to retain texture. I also steamed some cauliflowerettes and added that at the end for more texture but probably won't next time, just cleaning out the garden! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States