Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just say make with VELVETA! I'm a guy and I couldn't figure out what 'processed cheese' was so I used regular cheese. Turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smnicholson
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was wonderful, even in the hot July heat of the South. I did pay attention to the suggestions about the cheese. I did part Velveta and part extra sharp cheddar. I also used chicken broth instead of water as I do in most recipes that require water. I used a hand blender to puree the mixture, but left part of the mixture with some whole bits of squash. Who knew squash soup could taste so great. This is a keeper for me and I will freeze some for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberry, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
YUMMY! I just cut the squash up. I left the skin on and the seeds in but it still tastes yummy! I followed the rest of the recipe and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Lotawana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
An excellent and easy to make recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe and a perfect way to use abundant squash from the garden. I used cheddar cheese and added 1 lb browned hamburger and fresh chives. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Ponton
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was a good recipe! Like others mentioned, I did not seed the squash as they pureed fine. I also added garlic, crumbled bacon, and chicken broth instead of some of the water. It was a bit cheesy for my husband, but I don't think I added as much squash as it calls for. All in all, it was great and I will be keeping this recipe on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Easy to cook, with the inconvenience of having to lug out the mixer, but an excellent base soup. I added Penzy's Sandwich Sprinkle seasonings to it in lieu of just salt / pepper. Excellent. Will make again and will add carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a good base recipe. It is very forgiving too. I sauted my veggies in butter first. I threw in fresh corn, garlic and half of a seeded jalapeno pepper. Once sauted a bit....I used chicken broth instead of water. I threw in a few fresh roma tomatoes and some leftover fresh basil leaves into the blender. Sooooo good!!!! Add some parmesan cheese yet too. Used cheddar cheese. It is pretty thick, but simple to water down if needed. AMAZING! AND SO SIMPLE! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Really good. I used an immersion blender and Monterey Jack cheese instead of processed cheese. Also I added 1 Cup of chicken broth at the end to loosen it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this I did what a couple of other people suggested, I put a little of chicken broth in when I boiled the vegetables and added some fresh corn. I also used yellow and zuchinni squash. The seeds blended fine for me and so did the corn. I used monterrey jack instead of velveta and I'm glad I did, I didn't have bell pepper, but the spicy in the cheese was really good, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycynthia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States