Squash Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My mother used to make this relish every summer. It is a wonderful relish that goes well on a southern table. She always sliced her squash and onions in rings though, not diced them. They are much prettier in rings rather than diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This relish is by far better than any cucumber relish!! I make this every year and it is the only relish my family wants me to use. I put it in potato salad, tuna salad, chicken salad... anywhere I would normally use pickle relish! The squash actually seem to hold up better and stay firm longer in this relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this yesterday and so I haven't had a chance to taste it after it has sat in the can for awhile but the initial taste was wonderful! The perfect ratio of sweet to tangy. The reason I am giving it only four stars though is that is is quite liquidy. I think I will use less vinegar the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I make this every summer with extra veggies from the garden. My family loves it with meats and as a relish for hotdogs. I always add 3 jalapeno peppers for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was so quick and easy(i used my did processor for the vegis). my fiance and I both love the sweet taste. But can anyone tell me why these say to be refrigerated if they are sealed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a family favorite! To save time I throw the veggies into the food processer and pulse/chop until they are fairly finely chopped. My recipe calls for turmeric, and I leave out the mustard seed entirely. It's nice as a side as well as a relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I am giving it 5 stars for the prep work. I just made a batch this afternoon and haven't tasted it but what a easy recipe. I really hope it turns out as yummy as it looks! I am dying to taste it but I know it will need a few weeks for all of the flavors to settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2BAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I only cooked the squash 5 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teresa_n_tn
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made my first batch last night! Missing and substituting a few ingredients; I only used 1/2 of a green bell pepper( that's all I found in the fridge, I was completely out of Red Bell peppers so I found a small jar of diced pimentos (Hey they're sweet red bell peppers so it has to work!) I also had yellow squash as the recipe called for, but I also added Yellow Zucchini from my garden! I also misread the recipe directions( I read it no less than 5 times) at the beginning so my veggie mix sat stewing in their own waters and salt for one whole hour! I then saw my mistake and used a sieve to press out most of the water at the end of the hour, lol It still came out delish! WOW this was a real easy recipe~!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is SO good! I had a giant cucuzza squash that I needed to use up, and found out that people often use them interchangeably with summer squash. I decided to try this recipe, but halved it to see if I liked it first. We LOVED it, and I will probably make more asap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States