Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This pie is gorgeous! I made it in a "Marie cookie crust" (can't get Graham crackers here in Australia) and the pie tasted really good!It was delicious and not overly spicy like other recipes. It also looked really nice when it came out of the oven! Thanks for submitting this recipe, Carol! My toddlers don't eat this yet but I'm sure it's a taste that would please most kids too so I have to give it a 4 for that section :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Easy to make, mildly sweet and spicy and very tasty! Comes out a beautiful golden color that looks beautiful at your harvest table. I only needed ONE butternut squash, peeled and cubed for this recipe. It made just the right amount and I did not have to throw anything away or save it for something else. My family ate the entire pie for breakfast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Only change was to put 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and used fresh nutmeg. Move over pumpkin, squash is here to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Some people have complained that this pie lacks flavor, but I found it to be absolutely delicious! Decided to make a squash pie for my boyfriend for the holidays, and this is a great recipe. I made some small tweaks: I was more liberal with all the spices and the butternut squash than the recipe suggested (after cutting it in half), and I used brown sugar instead of white sugar as one reviewer suggested. I preferred it at room temperature rather than chilled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This was amazing. Make it!!!! The kids loved it, they thought they were having dessert with dinner. I used egg beaters and skim milk and nobody could tell it was low fat. I will make this again and again. It will definetly become a staple at my Thanksgiving Day dinner. I would cook it for maybe an extra 5 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! Everyone who has tried this (even professed squash haters, such as myself) LOVE this pie. I like it better than pumpkin pie, which is my favorite pie. It is easy, too. Hint, don't tell people what the pie is until they've tried it, or they will turn their noses up at the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Have made this pie for quite a few years. We always have an abundance of squash so I make pies. They r not quite as strong as pumpkin and a little softer but soooo good. I use skim milk and frutose instead of sugar and skim rather than regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Wow! This is a serious threat to the great pumpkin pie. Butternut squash is an incredible alternative to pumpkin. I think both are equal in taste, but it's always good to have a wide variety of foods in your diet, so this is a tasty way to get yet another vegetable into your digestive tract. It has to be good for you, but it tastes "naughty". Yum! I learned an important lesson after making this... so maybe you can keep this in mind when trying this recipe: The quantity of filling this recipe produced was way more than I could possibly fit into one 9-inch pastry crust. In fact, I had so much left over, I filled a second crust and still had a little extra that I poured down the kitchen sink. Now I have two pies in the refrigerator, one full pie and another one partially eaten. Next time I make this, if I only want one pie, then I will cut the ingredients in half. Maybe my pie crusts were more shallow and not as deep as Carol's. I used the Pillsbury 9-inch pie crusts. If you want to make only one pie but you have much more filling left over like I had, be prepared to have 2 pie crusts. If you do not have an extra pie crust, you could freeze the extra in a freezer bag to be used the next time you want to make one pie. It will be easier to make this pie next time if you already have the filling on reserve in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
My family loved this pie. I used brown sugar instead of white. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Excellent! I used 3/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of measuring individually, and lightly dusted the top with a little nutmeg. My family loved it! I didn't expect them to even try it because they refuse squash in every other form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States