Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've made this recipe last year and it was a keeper so I came back to look for it again because my family enjoyed it so much. I made it for Thanksgiving this year......it is delicious. It does look too watery when you fill the pie crust but it cooks up great and the mixture is enough for two pies. There is nothing like a homemade pie.....and you can pronouce and know what ingredients are in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I found this recipe to be very easy. I just boiled the squash in its shell and then scooped it out when it was done. I was really surprised at how runny it was, and I thought I had ruined it, but when I cooked it, it had set beautifully. I had some half and half cream that I had to use up, so I used a cup of that and a cup of milk. I did find it was too sweet since the squash I used was already sweet, so next time I'll adjust the sugar accordingly. Also, I doubled the amount of spices, and it tasted really good. Mmmmmmm..... I'll definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I used squash that I had canned last fall. Wonderful! Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I make fresh pumpkin pie every year. Went to the market to buy another pumpkin and they were out. Tried this recipe instead and it was a hit. My son loves pumpkin pie and so do my friends. They said they liked this pie better. I made it again and took it to a dinner party, again it was a big hit. I used the Keebler mini pie crusts as they are easier to handle at a party and seem to be preferred over a slice of a big pie. Glad I tried this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Really tasty though I found it to be a little too sweet and kind of watery. Next time I'll let the squash drain more I guess? Will definately make again...for Christmas actually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Yummy - even my picky 3 year old ate it! I think that I'd use a bit less milk next time, or substitute evaporated milk to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made as directed, perhaps adding more spices, poured into individual ramekins and baked as a custard. I used a squash I found called "Georgia Roaster" and it all turned out nicely. BTW.... I roast all my squash in the oven, process in the food processor & then put into vacuum bags & freeze. Having the biggest "mess" of the recipe already done, this is REALLY simple! A tasty, healthier dessert, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Overall a good pie, but next time I would 1/2 the recipe since we only needed 1 pie instead of 2! The mixture is very runny but it did set up nice it was just thin. I baked the remaining mixture in a bowl and it was good just plain with no crust as well. I too used pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Some people have complained that this pie lacks flavor, but I found it to be absolutely delicious! Decided to make a squash pie for my boyfriend for the holidays, and this is a great recipe. I made some small tweaks: I was more liberal with all the spices and the butternut squash than the recipe suggested (after cutting it in half), and I used brown sugar instead of white sugar as one reviewer suggested. I preferred it at room temperature rather than chilled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
try this with golden acorn squash. far superior to butternut, it has a smoother texture and much better taste than butternut squash pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States