Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This turned out fantastic using butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe based on the good reviews. It's an OK pie, but I've had better. It is milder than pumpkin pie, which some of my friends seemed to like when they tried it. I substituted evaporated milk for the regular milk and added a little ground cloves. It does make two 8" pies. A 9" pie would need to be pretty deep to hold all of the filling this recipe makes. I also thought that maybe I should have puree'd the filling to smooth the texture out a bit since the squash I used had a stringier texture than what I'm used to. Have fun making the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was a wonderful pie. I have never made a pie before, so I was definitely scared; however, it turned out fabulous. As pervious reviewers had noted, the filling is extremely watery, but it bakes up perfect. I used the individual spices as listed, whereas some people used pumpkin pie spice. I added a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added clove. Also, I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Lastly, I baked my squash instead of boiling it and then used a food processor (as suggested by others) to puree the squash. Everyone at Thanksgiving loved the pie and most preferred it over the traditional pie option - pumpkin pie. One thing to note, the recipe will make two 9 inch pies but don't use anything larger (like a 9.5 pie tin) if you want two pies. The .5 does make a difference and one of my pies was thinner than the other. This being said, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
We got an abundance of giant squash(over 40!)from the garden this year, so I've been looking for creative ways to use them! The squash is not quite as smooth, and much bigger than butternut, but similar enough, it worked great. I just used it in this recipe for my family yesterday. Five stars for squash pie! We're already planning squash pies for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious! The recipe fills two frozen pie crusts. I used a mix of the different squash from my local farm - 1 butternut, 1 delicata, and 1 acorn. Yum! Like other reviewers I increased the spices; doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg and added a dash of ground cloves. Instead of hot milk I used fat free evaporated milk. The squash wasn't as smooth as canned pumpkin so I also used my immersion hand blender to break up any chunks once all of the ingredients were mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great recipe, made 3 pies with 1 squash and same milk ammount, doubled the sugar and spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinah85

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Not very good. I must have done something wrong from looking at the reviews. Pie was a little mushy and just ok. I've made some great recipes from this site and this wasn't one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Instead of just mashing the squash I would puree it next time (didn't do that), but this dish was phenomenal. Not too sweet or spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Everyone in my family enjoyed this. Even my husband who doesn't like pumpkin pie. This is very similar, but not as rich. Nice texture, flavor, and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Rave reviews; even better than pumpkin, my husband claims. Ate it in about two days and need to make another one tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States