Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
One of the best pies I have had. I was able to fill 2 pie shells from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Fantastic pie! My daughter and I made this, and she couldn't get enough. If you do the full 2 lbs of squash, make sure you have containers to store the left overs. We did 2 full pies and still had some left over. Also substituted 1/2 c wildflower honey and 1/2 c brown sugar for the 1c white sugar. Used fresh ground nutmeg too and that really set it off. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My roommate loves pumpkin pie, but I can never fully enjoy it knowing that it is packed with all of those calories. This version pleases everyone! My roommate asks for it all the time and doesn't miss the pumpkin version one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good recipe! As everyone else states, the filling is super watery, but it definitely firms up for a nice pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleostrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made this delicious pie with a sweet meat squash. Loved by everyone, including pumpkin pie haters. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Oh yeah! Love this Squash Pie. What I did different was to substitute 1/2 cup brown sugar along with 1/2 white sugar. I also added a dash, and no more of ground cloves and put just a little more fat into the pie by using condensed milk for the regular milk. Yum! Both ways are great. Pass the pie please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Good as the best pumpkin pie ever. I doubled the spices, added grd cloves. I would use slightly less milk as it is not as firm as i would like. Note - 3 cups squash equals about 2#. Used ready made pie crust from store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Tastes ok but does not work very well for summer (yellow) squash. I will try this later this year again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Thought the night I made.. well this is ok.. but not great. Put in fridge and the next morning went to cut a piece for our son and ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I made my own crust but other than that.. made exactly per recipe (which never happens) Will make again and again.. Its been a couple weeks and the kids are asking for it again, so here I am :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Brooks
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it went over well. I realized too late that I was out of milk, so I used a 12 oz can of evaporated milk topped off with a little almond milk to make 2 cups. I would use less sugar next time, it was a little too sweet for me. I would also make less of the filling in general - I filled up the pie shell as far as it would go and still had a lot left over. As others have mentioned, the filling was very much a liquid when first poured into the shell. It does firm up on baking, although not as much as I would personally have preferred. I meddled with the spices, adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1/8, and a pinch of ground cloves. I wished I'd covered the pie for the first part of baking - I peeked about halfway through and the top was already browning. Worried that it might burn, I threw a piece of tin foil over it loosely. This seemed to have prevented it from browning further, but some of the filling stuck to the foil so the top of the pie looked a little rough after. All in all though, this went over well with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States