Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Was just making pie crusts with my mom. My dad and I love squash and so I asked my mom what she would think if I made my dad a squash pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Payton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great way to use squash and much better than pumpkin pie but it has a custard like consistency. I will try it with brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Definitely a keeper. I did cut down the ginger to 1/2 tsp. and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Also, added 1/8 tsp. of cardamom. Put the extra filling into ramakens and they are also fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very yummy. I cut the recipe in half and made exactly the right amount of filling. Dad and Grandma took home the left-overs, so this pie is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was really good! It was super watery at first, but just like what others had said, it did cook up just fine! I doubled the spices like others suggested, I'm glad I did. I also used my stick blender to give it a more smooth consistency after mashing. My kids loved this, they thought it was pumpkin pie! I know if I would have said squash pie, they would have just turned up their noses at it & refused to try... And sure enough, this made 2 pies. I'm glad I had 2 crusts ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used zucchini/summer squash from our garden, and 1/2 cup of splenda due to diabetes, awsome pie even made one for the local restaurant. I was glad i was able to use milk, i used whole milk, i was also skeptical at first the body was so thin, but came out prefect, used betty crocker pie crust recipe,need to use deep dish pie pan for this or you will have enough for two..will add pic soon its on my phone..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I've used this recipe many times with hopi squash from my garden. I made a deep dish pie in a spring form pan, baked the pie crust for 15 minutes. I added an 8 oz package of cream cheese for the filling then ended up baking the pie for 1 hour & 20 minutes. This is a recipe I keep in my pantry with all the other recipes I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Yum! Used a combo of kabocha and acorn squash, and used half brown sugar and half white, as other reviews recommend. Very tasty, and beautiful! There was definitely extra filling. I made several mini squash tarts with the extra by placing a small maple cookie in the bottom of lined mini muffin tins. Foil liners would have worked better than paper because they are a little messy, but they are tasty little treats! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My husband just loves my squash pies. I think they taste better than pumkin pie, but they are both very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My family was TOO FULL to try this, but my coworkers RAVED the next day! Nice and light, with great texture and flavor. My in-laws have begged me to make it again for Christmas Eve, and they promise to save room this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States