Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Overall a good pie, but next time I would 1/2 the recipe since we only needed 1 pie instead of 2! The mixture is very runny but it did set up nice it was just thin. I baked the remaining mixture in a bowl and it was good just plain with no crust as well. I too used pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Some people have complained that this pie lacks flavor, but I found it to be absolutely delicious! Decided to make a squash pie for my boyfriend for the holidays, and this is a great recipe. I made some small tweaks: I was more liberal with all the spices and the butternut squash than the recipe suggested (after cutting it in half), and I used brown sugar instead of white sugar as one reviewer suggested. I preferred it at room temperature rather than chilled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
try this with golden acorn squash. far superior to butternut, it has a smoother texture and much better taste than butternut squash pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMIAH
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good recipe! I made squash pie one other time with an acorn squash and a different recipe, and it was nowhere near as good as this. This pie is like pumpkin pie, but lighter. I had extra filling, and cooked it in a bowl as custard/pudding. I blended all the ingredients together in a blender, which resulted in a very consistent, "processed" consistency. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Excellent! I used 3/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of measuring individually, and lightly dusted the top with a little nutmeg. My family loved it! I didn't expect them to even try it because they refuse squash in every other form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was yummy! The kids actually thought it was pumpkin pie! Great way to get a variety into dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Only change was to put 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and used fresh nutmeg. Move over pumpkin, squash is here to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Easy to make, mildly sweet and spicy and very tasty! Comes out a beautiful golden color that looks beautiful at your harvest table. I only needed ONE butternut squash, peeled and cubed for this recipe. It made just the right amount and I did not have to throw anything away or save it for something else. My family ate the entire pie for breakfast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Tasted like a mildly flavored custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I was a little skeptical when I saw how watery the filling was. And like other reviewers, I had enough to make 2 pies. To my surprise, it solidified after baking and turned out ok. It tasted good but its texture was more like squash custard than anything. And yes, my squash custard tasted fine. Perhaps I didn't drain my squash long enough? I make this recipe again (I see squash vines in my backyard again) and will drain my cooked squash longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States