Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
very runny. It tasted good, but it made the crust soggy. It's a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is wonderful. I made this pie yesterday & it is delicious. My husband likes it better than pumpkin! Instead of hot milk, I just used a 14 oz can of evaporated milk.(room temp) I also cut the sugar a little, added about 1 Tble of molasses, & upped the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. I divided the remaining mashed squash into 2 cup containers to freeze for more pies. Thanks, Carol !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
One of the best pies I have had. I was able to fill 2 pie shells from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Fantastic pie! My daughter and I made this, and she couldn't get enough. If you do the full 2 lbs of squash, make sure you have containers to store the left overs. We did 2 full pies and still had some left over. Also substituted 1/2 c wildflower honey and 1/2 c brown sugar for the 1c white sugar. Used fresh ground nutmeg too and that really set it off. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My roommate loves pumpkin pie, but I can never fully enjoy it knowing that it is packed with all of those calories. This version pleases everyone! My roommate asks for it all the time and doesn't miss the pumpkin version one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good recipe! As everyone else states, the filling is super watery, but it definitely firms up for a nice pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleostrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made this delicious pie with a sweet meat squash. Loved by everyone, including pumpkin pie haters. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Oh yeah! Love this Squash Pie. What I did different was to substitute 1/2 cup brown sugar along with 1/2 white sugar. I also added a dash, and no more of ground cloves and put just a little more fat into the pie by using condensed milk for the regular milk. Yum! Both ways are great. Pass the pie please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Good as the best pumpkin pie ever. I doubled the spices, added grd cloves. I would use slightly less milk as it is not as firm as i would like. Note - 3 cups squash equals about 2#. Used ready made pie crust from store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Tastes ok but does not work very well for summer (yellow) squash. I will try this later this year again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States