Squash Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This dip had a great texture. Not everyone liked the flavor--I think goat cheese is an aquired taste, and my guests aren't there yet. Try this one when you are hosting people with a more sophisticated palette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
If you like goat cheese and butternut squash, you'll love this dip! I served with sliced baguette and substituted roasted pine nuts for the walnuts. Also added a little bit of salt. For a more mild flavor, you could substitute cream cheese for 1/2 of the goat cheese. Very beautiful appetizer. Lots of great comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made and sampled this recipe for about 100 shoppers at our co-op and people absolutely loved it! I used a 2 1/4# squash and goat chevre, but I only put about 1T fresh lemon juice in it - it came out perfect (along with 2 small heads of local red winter garlic and a pinch of Himalayan pink sea salt). The garlic flavor was subtle and the dip was surprisingly sweet (and a beautiful light orange color). I served it with Food Should Taste Good gluten-free multi-grain chips and sweet potato chips (the verdict was that the multi-grain chips were the best because of their saltiness, but the sweet potato chips were good too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
We didn't care for this. The goat cheese flavor was too strong and the tang from the lemon seemed to accentuate that even more. Maybe a combo of feta and cream cheese would be better? It was also very thick. Probably won't attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made a smaller version, with a golden nugget squash, and it was terrific. I'm making it with a turban squash as the serving bowl for Thanksgiving. Hopefully it will still be as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Lacks flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Everyone loved it! Used one 8 oz package of cream cheese and one 4 oz package of goat cheese. This really does make A LOT of dip, I'll cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This made alot alot alot of dip! I liked it, friends not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Huge hit. HUGE. Everyone loved it! Only two remarks: 1) it makes a lot. Be prepared - if it isn't a big party, you will be blessed with leftovers (especially if you are like us and always have too much food!) 2) needs salt. I use the pink Himalayan and it was perfect. Other than that, it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
LOVE this dip. It's always a hit wherever I bring it. The only change i made was to use 1/2 goat cheese and 1/2 cream cheese. Delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States