Squash Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I am munching on one now...OMG.. I put a teeny bit of icing drizzle on it, threw in some toasted walnuts, white chocolate chips , a 1/4 c oatmeal and 1/2 cranberries...my kids ate 5 a piece. There is no squashy taste at all. not that it's bad-I love squash) All in all, this recipe ROCKS! Think I might make them in Muffin top cups. ok, enough typing, must eat another one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I just baked these and they're great. I used butternut squash. We left out the raisins at my mother's request. They aren't really like cookies, more like little mini-muffins or cakes (all that baking powder). The taste is excellent! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These cookies were very good. My 3 boys (including a 14th month old) loved them. They are a much more healthy snack than other cookies. The only changes I made was to cut back just slightly on the nutmeg and ginger. I also frosted half of them with a cream cheese frosting. (cream cheese, powdered sugar, butter and vanilla). They are definitely something we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Wonderful and fool-proof and different (in a good way). I'm a cook, not a baker, but these turned out perfectly all three times I've made them! I use acorn squash (they're the perfect size for one recipe) and dried cranberries instead of raisins. If you're making these for the first time, do not put them in the oven for longer than the recipe says! They will seem under-cooked when you first take them out, but they firm up a bit when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These are wonderful i even substituted rice flour and they came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
These were great. I don't have a sweet tooth, so I cut back on the sugar a little bit, and I skipped the raisins as I wasn't in the mood. I used walnuts as I didn't have pecans, and I halved the recipe for our two-person household. I love the muffin like texture. I think it could stand up to more spice, so don't skimp on it. Worked well at 6,000+ feet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is a fun way to get folks to eat squash. I thought they were very good. Even my husband liked them, and he is not a squash guy. I would recommend very careful portioning as you put the cookies onto the sheet. These are very cake-like cookies, so watch your bottoms as they can burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I've made this with acorn squash and sugar pie pumpkin with equally great results. Also sub half the ap flour with whole wheat white flour. And sub the nuts and raisins with an equal amount of rolled oats, dried cranberries, and choc chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Dodobara Doran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I actually made these cookies but subsitiuted the squash with yams (sweet potato) OMG!!!!They were/are AWESOME. I wanted to thin out some cream cheese icing and add, but didn't have time. This recipie makes a hearty cookie YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
An excellant way to use extra winter squash. Cookies are soft and cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States