Squash Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
best. cookies. ever. i made them with carnival squash, dried cranberries, and roasted pumpkin seeds. omfg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroshimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Wonderful treats. I wouldn't call them cookies though. They're soft like muffins. I added cream cheese frosting on top which made them perfect. These are keepers for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly. Tasted and felt like fluffy pumpkin muffin tops. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
These were great. I don't have a sweet tooth, so I cut back on the sugar a little bit, and I skipped the raisins as I wasn't in the mood. I used walnuts as I didn't have pecans, and I halved the recipe for our two-person household. I love the muffin like texture. I think it could stand up to more spice, so don't skimp on it. Worked well at 6,000+ feet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Wonderful and fool-proof and different (in a good way). I'm a cook, not a baker, but these turned out perfectly all three times I've made them! I use acorn squash (they're the perfect size for one recipe) and dried cranberries instead of raisins. If you're making these for the first time, do not put them in the oven for longer than the recipe says! They will seem under-cooked when you first take them out, but they firm up a bit when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made these with butternut squash and left out the nuts. These have a nice flavor and texture, with the consistency of muffin tops as other have mentioned. The next time I make them I will likely double the spices because I found the spiciness fairly mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
These are some of my favorite cookies! I get lots of butternut squash from my local farm share & I look forward to making these every year. I substitute craisins for the raisins, because they look so pretty against the squash color, and walnuts for pecans (walnuts are healthier nuts) & I toast the nuts first. I have trouble not over-eating with these cookies around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Very good. I made half of them as muffins. The cookies are like thin muffin tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I am munching on one now...OMG.. I put a teeny bit of icing drizzle on it, threw in some toasted walnuts, white chocolate chips , a 1/4 c oatmeal and 1/2 cranberries...my kids ate 5 a piece. There is no squashy taste at all. not that it's bad-I love squash) All in all, this recipe ROCKS! Think I might make them in Muffin top cups. ok, enough typing, must eat another one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This recipe was excellent! The cookies are soft and stay soft for a few days after baking. They have a great, light flavor that my husband and I love. The next time I make these I'll cut the sugar a bit, but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States