Squash Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These are pretty delicious. Though hubby says there's an off taste to the cookies because of the butternut squash. The coworkers seem to love them fine. The cookies spread like crazy but then they rise. I'd prefer pumpkin or carrot cake cookies over squash cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Wonderful! I'm unsure what did it, but I ended up with batter and just poured it into two cake pans to keep it thin. Ended up with really good squash bars - cakey, spicy, delicious! Substitutions (or what I used because this was a "just use house stuff up" endeavor: No allspice or cloves so I put 1/8 tsp extra cinnamon and 1/8 tsp extra nutmeg. Instead of the listed sugars, I used 1 1/2 cups of raw sugar. No raisins or pecans - since we usually keep almonds around, I'd like to see how slicing those in would work. Only had 2 cups all-purpose flour, so used wheat flour for the rest. I also added in an extra 1/2 cup of flour in an attempt to thicken the very thin batter a bit - wasn't enough to affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These cookies are AWESOME! Dropped the nuts/raisins and added 2/3C of Hershey's Milk Chocolate Chips and 2/3C Hershey's Cinnamon Chips..Son Loves them! They are like little cakes, or the ends of a Gob...might be good idea to make into a Gob for fundraisers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I love this recipe. These taste the same as the cake-like pumpkin chocolate chip cookies that are sold in the stores in fall. I left out the pecans and added chocolate chips instead of raisins. I think I would like a stronger flavor than what I got out of my buttternut squash, so I will try pumpkin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fantastic - they remind me of a pumpkin cookie I make around Christmas. I did the recipe exactly as stated except I only had 1/2 cup of raisins so I used 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup cranberries. My boyfriend the squash lover will definitely enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These cookies are a cinch to make and yield a soft cakey type of cookie because of the extra leavening from soda and baking powder. I used sweet potato instead of squash and added a tsp of nutmeg and a tsp. of ginger and a quater tsp of cloves. My BF opened an 8 oz. container of Greek yoghurt to have with his chili and only used about two tbsp.. I added the rest to the cookies which enhanced the rising action and had no deleterious effect. I think next time I might use walnuts instead of pecans..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I excluded nuts (due to allergies) and substituted 2 tsp of pumpkin spice for all spices. They are a wonderfully soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I have more squash than I know what to do with and this will definitely use them up. i may have used too much water to puree my squash and so we ended up with batter and muffins (375* @ 12 minutes). I also was short allspice and nutmeg (i know that kind of makes the muffin) but they were still amazing. The 3rd dozen are cooking and I have only 4 from the first 24 uneaten. My pre-preschool kids (4, 3, & 3) love them. We were going to frost them but there is no need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brossettelewis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
A cake-like cookie with all the wonderful flavors of the fall. Perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good, more like a cake than a cookie. Would add additional dried fruits for extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States