Squash Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is a fun way to get folks to eat squash. I thought they were very good. Even my husband liked them, and he is not a squash guy. I would recommend very careful portioning as you put the cookies onto the sheet. These are very cake-like cookies, so watch your bottoms as they can burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I actually made these cookies but subsitiuted the squash with yams (sweet potato) OMG!!!!They were/are AWESOME. I wanted to thin out some cream cheese icing and add, but didn't have time. This recipie makes a hearty cookie YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were yummy but the consistancy was much more like tops of muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I ended up putting the batter in muffin cups because it was so thin. The recipe called for 2 tsp baking powder so they rose up and everything. Substituted walnuts for pecans and craisins for raisins- Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I've made this with acorn squash and sugar pie pumpkin with equally great results. Also sub half the ap flour with whole wheat white flour. And sub the nuts and raisins with an equal amount of rolled oats, dried cranberries, and choc chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These cookies are so good! They are cake-like, or like muffin tops. The spice blend is perfect. I used only 1/4 cup of white sugar (plus the 3/4 brown sugar). I used 1 1/2 c. flour and 1 c. whole wheat flour. I don't bake cookies very often, but I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I had to bake them for about 20 min but they are very good and I'm sure that they will taste great with a browned butter frosting! I also baked them without the add in's and divided the batter up baking some plain with nothing added, one with dried cherries and one with dried cherries and cranberries. there dose need to be some kind of nut in the cookie. It need the texture of the nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmbcakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
YUM! I used honey to replace the white sugar, whole wheat flour, and was more generous with the spices. They are soft and taste like autumn. I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rujizmejian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These are pretty delicious. Though hubby says there's an off taste to the cookies because of the butternut squash. The coworkers seem to love them fine. The cookies spread like crazy but then they rise. I'd prefer pumpkin or carrot cake cookies over squash cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Wonderful! I'm unsure what did it, but I ended up with batter and just poured it into two cake pans to keep it thin. Ended up with really good squash bars - cakey, spicy, delicious! Substitutions (or what I used because this was a "just use house stuff up" endeavor: No allspice or cloves so I put 1/8 tsp extra cinnamon and 1/8 tsp extra nutmeg. Instead of the listed sugars, I used 1 1/2 cups of raw sugar. No raisins or pecans - since we usually keep almonds around, I'd like to see how slicing those in would work. Only had 2 cups all-purpose flour, so used wheat flour for the rest. I also added in an extra 1/2 cup of flour in an attempt to thicken the very thin batter a bit - wasn't enough to affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States