Squash Casserole with Crunchy Pecan Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Excellent. I made it with one minor modification...added a little cinnamon to the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used coconut oil instead of butter (did the same for basting my turkey.) It works beautifully. No sticking to the pan. I wish I had made twice as much topping and used an 11 x 13 dish and spread it over even more of the squash. It was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEHEM513

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesburg, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was the most popular dish at our Thanksgiving dinner. I've made this several more times and have used at least 5 different types of squash that we received from our CSA. There isn't one type of squash that made it better. They all tasted delicious. I agree that it is more of a desert like dish. At the same time, it is a little savory. I have also tried it with coconut extract and that was also delicious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Super! My family loved this! It was good the first day and the next as leftovers! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I brought it to my family Thanksgiving dinner. The people who grew up hating squash said it was the best they'd ever had (and proceeded to eat it happily) and those who actually like squash ate seconds... and thirds... and made me promise to bring some to Christmas dinner. I followed the recipe exactly, but due to time constraints I stuck it in the fridge overnight before baking it (and then let it sit on the counter for about half an hour before putting it in the oven). Next time, I will wait until it's about to go into the oven before applying the topping to be sure to get it nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was just ok for the labor that went into preparing it. I probably won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
After having sweet potatoes with pecans instead of marshmallows for the first time, I HAD to find a recipe! This is absolutely fabulous. Instead of three acorn squashes, I use 4 cups of mashed yams from a can (buy 2 of the big yam cans). Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was a hit at our Thanksgiving Dinner although I felt it could almost be served for dessert. It is definitely a sweet dish and I didn;t need to double the recipe, even for a crowd of 12 (due to the fact that most people don't take heaping servings of sweet veggies at dinner). My husband (who loves sweets) adored this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Absolutely amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PianoGirl1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States