Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The best summer squash casserole I've ever had! Will replace my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious and quick to put together! My two young ones actually ate all of it before touching their main dish. Pretty much kept to the recipe except for substituting the bread crumbs for the Club brand crackers. To be quite honest, I will just use the recipe ingredient as is next time. With the mayo, butter, cheddar and French fried onions, I think there is enough taste (and calories) in order to just stick to the bread crumbs. However, THIS MAKES A LOT OF FOOD. I should have read the recipe more closely when it said that I needed a six quart casserole dish. I halved it (or more precisely, made two batches) and had more than enough for our little family of four. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I just made this recipe & I have converted non-squash lovers to this dish!! I made a few changes: I did 1/2 cup mayo with 1/2 cup sour cream. I also used 1 teaspoon of sugar & 1/3 cup butter, melted. I decided to use panko breadcrumbs which turned out great. Please try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
very good but only occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Why doesn't this have more reviews?! It is the best squash casserole I have ever eaten. I followed Meg's advice (most helpful review) for all the changes. I didn't know what to expect with so much mayo, but it was superb. My husband and daughter loved it. Thanks! And seriously, give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Made this last night and it was AH-mazing! I altered the recipe for "2 servings" using the calculator on the site because I only had 1.5 pounds of squash and it ended up being what I would consider about 8-10 servings. I also added diced onions and then sprinkled parmesan cheese on the shredded cheese and breadcrumb topping before baking, then added some extra cheese along with the onions for the final 10 minutes. The boyfriend loved it and stuffed himself silly. This will definitely be my go-to squash casserole recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I love this recipe. I followed it exactly and it was delicious. Other recipes I tried were too soggy but not this one. The sugar did not make it sweet as others had mentioned. Thanks Michelle for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
AMazing recipe. I cut it back for smaller casserole dish. Added Fresh peppers & Garlic. Instead of just bread crumbs I mixed Panko with Bread crumbs. It smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Just plain AWESOME! Thanks Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband's new favorite recipe! I tweaked it a little by leaving out the sugar and the bread crumbs. I may have been a bit short on the squash as it looked runny so I added a third egg. I used buttered ritz on top. Lowfat mayo worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States