Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
It's crazy to me that more people haven't found this recipe! I have fed this casserole to practically everyone I know, and not one person (NOT ONE!!) has failed to say that it is delicious, unbelieveable, amazing, etc. Every time I make it someone asks for the recipe. Here's what I do differently: instead of regular fried onions I use the cheddar kind. I use salted butter (don't substitute margarine, please!), and the most important change - use crushed Club brand crackers (white, rectangular, buttery crackers) instead of bread crumbs. Makes all the difference in the world. I also use less cheddar cheese because I can't make it all fit in my dish. This is wonderful. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
The ingredients are great, but I did things a little differently. I preferred sauteeing the squash in the butter and I added about a 1/4 cup of wine and seasoned well with salt and pepper. I beat the eggs in another bowl and added the mayo, sugar and cheese to it (I added some parm too... I just love parm flavor). And instead of breadcrumbs, I crushed some Ritz crackers and sprinkled them on the bottom and the top. It was a MAJOR household pleaser!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Tasty! Even my kids ate their squash! I substituted Miracle Whip for the mayo and crushed crackers for the bread crumbs, since I was out. I also sprinkled some cheese in with the mixture, as well as adding some to the top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious and quick to put together! My two young ones actually ate all of it before touching their main dish. Pretty much kept to the recipe except for substituting the bread crumbs for the Club brand crackers. To be quite honest, I will just use the recipe ingredient as is next time. With the mayo, butter, cheddar and French fried onions, I think there is enough taste (and calories) in order to just stick to the bread crumbs. However, THIS MAKES A LOT OF FOOD. I should have read the recipe more closely when it said that I needed a six quart casserole dish. I halved it (or more precisely, made two batches) and had more than enough for our little family of four. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
i just made this today and it was very good..i made it exactly as is. i will make this again thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This taste just like my Grandmothers. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This was very easy and delicious. It really makes enough to serve 8-10, so I halved the recipe to serve just my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I have used this recipe for the past six years for my Thanksgiving meals and everybody absolutely loves this recipe that they always request for me to make this at all holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Why doesn't this have more reviews?! It is the best squash casserole I have ever eaten. I followed Meg's advice (most helpful review) for all the changes. I didn't know what to expect with so much mayo, but it was superb. My husband and daughter loved it. Thanks! And seriously, give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was good, but it came out too sweet. Next time I will omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States