Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good. Sautéed vegs first instead of boiling and it worked well. Not too mushy. 1 year old and hubby devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I've made this twice in the last month - my husband loves it! I used some of the suggestions from others (left out all sugar, cut butter back to about 1/4 cup, sauteed the squash in a PAM-sprayed skillet instead of boiling it, and cut back cracker crumbs to about 1 cup.) I sauteed one diced onion (instead of green onions) in 6 slices of cut-up bacon. Then I added about a pound of leftover cubed turkey to make this a main dish. (Great way to use those Thanksgiving leftovers soon!) I'm not a big veggie fan, but this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I liked this enough to make again.Even though I am a southerner I never ate much squash casserole. We normally bread and fry, season and saute or slice thin and add to salads. Having a grocery bag full given to us I decided to make a casserole and freeze the rest for future casseroles. Looking at the recipes I thought I would try this because it didnt have soup in it. I did half the recipe since there are only two of us. I used what cheese I had on hand which was a little cheddar and a taco blend. I had about 3/4 of a sleeve of club crackers which were not fresh enough to eat but good enough for this. I steamed the squash 8 minutes in the microwave. I added garlic and onion powder. I used a scant T of sugar. I only used 2 T of butter that I pulsed with the crackers. I mixed some of the crackers/cheese into the casserole and put the rest on top. As for the green onions, here's a tip that I did not know til a couple weeks ago, some of you may know this already but I sure didn't. Last week I found a small (sad) bunch of green onions in the fridge. I trimmed most of the green off, stuck them down in a small juice glass of water (change frequently) and they had growed enough to use for this casserole. They are back in the water and growing again. You can do this in dirt but they grow faster in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
cut back a bit on sugar and butter. might mix in cheese next time instead of just on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made this reciepe in a hurry on Sunday because my husband wanted the squash cooked before they went bad, and this reciepe fit the bill it was not only quick but it was very good in fact delicious! Thanks so much I will make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
By far the best Squash Casserole I have ever had. Only changes I made was mixing half of the cheese called for in with the other ingredients and then mixing the other half in with the toppings. I was very pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
We receive a weekly organic CSA box, and needed to find a recipe to use two weeks of various squash varieties. This one hit the spot perfectly, with a few minor changes since I did not have the exact ingredients on hand. I added corn from two fresh cobs, diced jalapeno ,maui onion in lieu of the green onions (all from my CSA box), shredded Kraft mexican cheese, and topped the casserole with crushed tortilla chips. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is a basic squash casserole recipe. The ingredients are what most people have on hand. I chose this recipe because it is simple and did include ingredients I already had. I followed the recipe exactly except I only boiled it about five minutes. I used both round butter crackers and saltines. This is a very good recipe in which you can add other ingredients or change around a bit according to your tastes. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
OMG. Wow. This is fantastic. If you've got good squash, you don't need the sugar, otherwise keep this recipe just as it is and you will be sooo happy. Great beginner recipe too... you can't get more simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I never made a casserole with squash before this and it was an outstanding dish. Everyone loved it. It was very easy to make and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States