Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is so good. It tastes just like the casserole at Black Eyed Pea! I did do one thing different though - instead of putting the crackers and cheese on top, I mixed them in with the rest of the ingredients and baked, it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I asked my husband what he wanted for Father's day dinner, and he said squash casserole. He's from Arkansas, I'm from New York..so needless to say, I had a "are you kidding me?" moment. Having nothing to compare the taste to, I was reluctant to make it. But then realized I could go to my favorite website and find one that would come close to what Granny used to make. After reading every single recipe,and all the reviews, this one sounded the best. Wow, is all I got to say. I have never had this before. Never even bought squash till yesterday. I thought it was totally amazing. Very very tasty. My 5 yr old even liked it. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but didn't use the whole bunch of onions..(What is a bunch anyway? is it the whole bag,and what if my bunch was bigger than one used in this recipe? would I then be using too much?..yea, I was going nutty.So I knocked it down to half, and it came out awesome. Thanks for a wonderful recipe,and for saving Father's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Good old fashioned recipe, just what I was looking for. I used sliced Vidalia onions instead of the green onions (just a southern thing, I guess!), and everyone loved it. I'll use this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is a really good squash casserole. My whole family enjoyed it. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious! Prepared as directed. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
I've made this several times for my father with his fresh squash from the garden. He loves it. I've also recommended the recipe to family and friends. I was able to put the whole recipe in a 9 inch pan instead of the 13x9 pan and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
i have been looking for a squash casserole recipe for a while now & this is not the one. it was good, don't get me wrong. but i think the cheese should be mixed with in the milk and cheese. maybe even some crackers. guess i will keep on trying different combos and or recipes til i find the perfect one. thanks for the recipes, it has put me on the right path
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was exactly what I was looking for--tastes like what I used to get at the Blackeyed Pea. I will put only 2 tablespoons of sugar next time, though. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Just what I was looking for. A squash casserole that I had the ingredients for. It is simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States