Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Exactly what we were looking for - a simple, classic squash casserole without a lot of unnecessary "frills" that cover up the wonderful flavor of the squash. Great flavors, and we loved the sliced green onions in this! The only cheese I had on hand was provolone, so I used it in place of the cheddar and it was wonderful. This will definitely become a keeper...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was so good. My family loved it. Taste just like the casserole at Black Eyed Pea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this for a family gathering and even though I had to substitute wheat club crackers for the butter rounds it turned out really good. Even my teenage daughter who hates squash asked for seconds. Can't wait until my next visit to the farmers market to get more squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I asked my husband what he wanted for Father's day dinner, and he said squash casserole. He's from Arkansas, I'm from New York..so needless to say, I had a "are you kidding me?" moment. Having nothing to compare the taste to, I was reluctant to make it. But then realized I could go to my favorite website and find one that would come close to what Granny used to make. After reading every single recipe,and all the reviews, this one sounded the best. Wow, is all I got to say. I have never had this before. Never even bought squash till yesterday. I thought it was totally amazing. Very very tasty. My 5 yr old even liked it. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but didn't use the whole bunch of onions..(What is a bunch anyway? is it the whole bag,and what if my bunch was bigger than one used in this recipe? would I then be using too much?..yea, I was going nutty.So I knocked it down to half, and it came out awesome. Thanks for a wonderful recipe,and for saving Father's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Just what I was looking for. A squash casserole that I had the ingredients for. It is simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
not what i was looking for. I don't think it should have sugar in it. I guess we were looking for a creamier cheesier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
i have been looking for a squash casserole recipe for a while now & this is not the one. it was good, don't get me wrong. but i think the cheese should be mixed with in the milk and cheese. maybe even some crackers. guess i will keep on trying different combos and or recipes til i find the perfect one. thanks for the recipes, it has put me on the right path
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
it was very easy and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was exactly what I was looking for--tastes like what I used to get at the Blackeyed Pea. I will put only 2 tablespoons of sugar next time, though. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
We loved it! It is simple to prepare and we will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Ison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States