Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is a great recipe, but I, too, had to tweak it to reflect my childhood. I grew up eating squash casserole here in Texas, but it was savory all the way -- no sugar, and we used saltines instead of the round, buttery crackers (although I've had it that way and it is good). I used the green onion tops, but also sauteed half of a Texas 1015 onion in 2 tbsp butter (omitted the rest of the butter), and mixed the crackers and cheese with all the other ingredients. I give it a little kick with a dash or two of hot sauce (use your favorite). Also, I used a bit of fresh thyme out of my garden and seasoned it with white pepper, instead of black. Oh, to be that kid again, and have the energy to burn off all those calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
PUT A KICK IN SQUASH! Great recipe if you like squash and if you don't...try it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was a great casserole...would be good with or without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was devoured at Thanksgiving. I made it for a holiday potluck since I am away from home and it's a tradition for my family's Thanksgiving dinner, so I was surprised that my friends who'd never heard of squash casserole scraped the dish clean! You can easily get by on 1 egg mixed with the milk for 7 squash, a smaller baking dish, and my family recipe doesn't use cheese, just the crackers. Nonetheless, it's still very rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I agree with the comparison to the casserole from The Black Eyed Pea restaurant. That is one of my favorites but we don't live near the restaurant anymore so I was really glad to find this recipe. It has been requested several times for potlucks and believe me, if I can make a dish that gets requests, it's a winner! After all, I don't usually cook, I go to the Black Eyed Pea or other restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I practically ate the whole casserole myself. I craved it with every meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very good Squash Casserole! I loved it, but my children won't eat it. My husband will eat it though. I did not put crackers on it, (I just put cheese. I found it to be better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was the best recipe for squash that I have ever tasted. My kids and husband loved it. I did make a couple of changes to it. Here they are: Only 4 squash. I melted the butter in the microwave and premixed the ingrediants. I also used a regular onion (very small). After the squash was done boiling I drained it then returned it to the pan. The poured the mixture over it and stirred. I then dumped it into the baking dish and put 4 cups of ceddars cheese on it and ritz crackers crushed. It was an amazing dish! Thanks for the great recipe I have passed it on to my whole family to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fisher, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Wow. I had some quarts of squash that I canned, and I used that. It was so fresh tasting. I also used instead of the crackers, a little of bisquick sprinkled on top with the cheese. Oh the cheese! This was one of the best tasting casseroles. I had 6 family members over and it just wasn't enough. Next time Im doubling it. Thanks a bunch, Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States