Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My family and I have been making this exact recipe for years at Thanksgiving, so I know it is amazing! This recipe is the reason I don't like to try other squash casseroles -- honestly, the other ones I have tried NEVER stack up! Things I do differently: I don't peel or seed my squash. I cut the squash instead into about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick slices before boiling, and I do not mash them after boiling -- I just put the slices in the casserole. It tastes delicious this way, although I imagine mashing is good for tricking picky eaters. Another good tip -- you can swap out yellow squash for zucchini in this recipe, or do half and half for some variety and color -- the taste is about the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was VERY squashy. Definitely not the recipe to try if you are not a squash lover. I want to cringe at the thought of it. To be fair, I'm not a squash fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is a recipe that I have made for years. It was passed down from my grandmother. I don't change anything, except I do not peel my squash or take the seeds out. Its Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I omit the carrots and use 2 boxes of stuffing with 1/2 cup margarine. I mix the margarine with all the stuffing, then mix 1/2 the mixture with the squash mixture and place the other half of the mixture on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is so good. One of my guests asked what the casserole was after going back for seconds. When I said "squash," she replied, "But I hate squash, and this is delicious." I had to print multiples copies of the recipe for my guests. You'll love this. Guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I'm not sure if it was my efforts or the receipe, but this was not the biggest hit at dinner. The squash receipe I used at Thanksgiving got rave reviews and there were no leftovers, but of course when I went to find it for Christmas, I couldnt. I've started saving the receipes to avoid this problem in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is another great squash recipe. I use butternut squash and I add turkey, chicken, or pork tenderloin to make it more of a complete meal. It always turns out great. I hate squash, but this recipe turns it into something I can't stop eating. My parents, and boyfriend agree as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I love this recipe. My good friend's mom taught me to make this and I always bless her when I do. But, she taught me one difference which really makes this an outstanding Thanksgiving dish. We use Butternut squash instead. The flavor is richer, the color is spectacular, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Was there squash in here? Nice flavor, but you lose the squash except for the mushy texture and added moisture. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Pretty good recipe even with my dietetic changes (I used fat-free sour cream, ff. cream of chicken, and used chicken broth rather than butter for moisture). I added 2 cooked shredded chicken breasts, and served it with cranberry sauce with Splenda for a low cal dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States