Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Instead of simmering in water, I saute onion, squash (and/or zucchini), garlic, and a jalapeno in either a small amount of oil or some of the butter, covering the pan to bring out the liquid in the squash/zucchini until the squash is tender. To make it healthier, I typically use a low fat/low sodium cream of (whatever) soup, light sour cream & lessen the amount of butter by at least 1 T. If I've got it on hand, I use Italian seasoned bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Tasted great, but was far more soupy than I prefer my veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
There are few recipes I haven't enjoyed from this site but this is definitely one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Excellent casserole, really really yummy! Had some reservations about it, but it turned out amazing. Would be really good with thanksgiving dinner or something similar. I sauteed the squash and onions in butter and then added water and mixed everything together! Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceybaakko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have made this for many years and found it adds a 'what's that flavor I can't identify' when you add just a touch of nutmeg. I also use the 98% fat free and low sodium soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Unfortunately, not very good. Too soupy, and the squash has a mushy texture. Will try another squash cassarole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
My son and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Sorry not for me maybe just a southern thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
good solid recipe.I added more cheese, but my family loves cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giroirtj2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre Part, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very very good and the preparation was practically effortless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States