Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This recipe is excellent. I did make a couple of changes, I sauteed the onion and squash using butter instead of water. I also used herbed stuffing mix instead of the bread crumbs as suggested in the recipe. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This is a good recipe but I do change a few things that I think make it better. I use ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs and I add cheese to it. Since I have a picky husband and 2 toddlers I have found that if I add cheese they will eat almost anything! lol A good way to get kids (and picky hubbys) to eat veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Like the first reviewer, I used too much water to cook the squash and onion. The final product was soupy, but it tasted very good! Next time, I don't think I'll reserve any of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Native-Memphian
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My husband loved this dish. I wasn't happy with the stuffing topping as seemed a bit chewey to me. I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the squash and onions together in a skillet with the butter. I think next time I'll take one of the other reviewer's tips and soak the stuffing mix in with the melted butter before putting on top. We loved this though. I used low-fat butter and sour cream as well as low-fat, low-sodium soup and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Native-Memphian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Had some reservations about it, but when it came out of the oven, ooooooh-la-la! It was excellent. We used butternut squash, which gave it a sweetness offset by the sour cream. Wonderful side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
This was excellent and very easy, I added 1 can of sliced mushrooms, the homemade breadcrumbs made it that much better. I'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
I must have put too much water when covering the squash before cooking. The final product was too runny. Other squash casseroles recipes that I have tried were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was great at an office party. I added a little of Knorrs vegetable mix to give a little flavor. I didn't add liquid to mix. I also didn't cook the squash in a lot of water because they make there own. This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhamgirl374

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
My husband and I made this last thanksgiving and it was delicious! We got asked to bring it again this thanksgiving! We used seasoned stuffing mix instead of breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Excellent casserole, really really yummy! Had some reservations about it, but it turned out amazing. Would be really good with thanksgiving dinner or something similar. I sauteed the squash and onions in butter and then added water and mixed everything together! Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceybaakko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States