Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have been making a casserole like for years. I steam and mash the squash. I saute cristini mushrooms, onion, garlic, jalapeno peppers and add a small can of diced chilis. I then add the squash with an egg, add cheddar cheese and mix in the vegetables. I use a nonstick spray on my 8x8 pan, top with more cheese and back until brown. It is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have made a casserole almost like this for years. My recipe is from a popular restaurant chain. It uses half the amount of butter and fresh bread crumbs and the crumbs go inside. Putting the bread crumbs inside helps to absorb the extra moisture and retains the vitamins that could be lost by mashing the liquid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
A great recipe for all the huge squash and zucchini from gardening friend. I removed seeds, steamed squash & zucchini & drained well. I put fresh bread crumbs in with casserole and added panko to the top. Thank you Gaye who submitted. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I was happy to find a recipe with squash that didn't use cheese. My husband and I loved it. I think my kids will grow into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
It was great to find a tasty squash recipe that was milk-free. I don't think my changes are too much, so I'm submitting my review. I used a small onion and added some paprika & garlic. Like another reviewer, I sauteed my squash & onions. It didn't need the extra draining like other reviewers. I used cornbread as a topping, to make it gluten-free. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I've been looking for a recipe like my grandmother's for years! This is it! I mashed the squash in a collander as recommended and instead of breadcrumbs, I took corn flakes and ground them to breadcrumb consistancy...add about 1/4 cup in with the mixture and put remainder on top. This is an awesome, easy recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie Ferren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe was excellent! A friend of mine had given me extra yellow squash that she had and I wanted to try something different. This recipe nailed it. I only used a quarter cup of butter instead of half and it was still very tasty; even my husband enjoyed it :-) Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrLuvr130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. I used a whole small onion because we love onions, although next time I will saute them first. That's the only change. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hudson's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Awesome recipe! I halved the recipe and it turned out great. I, too, steamed the squash rather than boiling it. I mashed the squash in a bowl, drained, mashed some more, and drained again. I didn't have any problems with moisture because of this. I also just used two pinches of sugar as we don't care for sweet dishes (unless it's dessert). Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. My children loved it and ask me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States