Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
We loved this recipe. I followed the recipe as directed. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I loved it. My husband even liked it an he usually won't eat squash that's not deep fried. It would have been better if I hadn't forgot the onion. I use onion in the dish I usually make for myself on top of the stove. This one is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Oh my goodness! Due to the simple nature of this recipe, I thought it was going to lack flavor...boy was I wrong! This is one of the BEST squash casserole recipes that I have ever made. Mmmmmmm....you MUST try this one!! I will make this again - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A bit sweet for me, but otherwise delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Wow! This was delicious. It reminded me of a squash casserole from a restaurant called The Cooker. I made a few changes. I steamed the squash and had zero problem with it being too "liquidy". I also mixed the breadcrumbs into the casserole and very lightly dusted the top with breadcrumbs. I also used a tad more sugar (about 1/3 cup), only one egg, no salt or pepper and butter instead of margarine. I have no idea how much squash I actually used. I had a 5 pound squash from the market and only used the neck. I tasted as I added the ingredients. I didn't want to add too much sugar because I did not want it to be overly sweet. I wanted to actually be able to taste the squash. It was amazing and a huge hit with family who came for dinner and had never had this side dish before. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I mashed the squash with my hand-held potato masher and added some breadcrumbs to the mixture to keep it firm. A little shredded cheddar on top completes this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Scaled down to 5-6 servings and added more onions and sugar. Also used canola butter, italian bread crumbs and a touch of bacon grease. Cooked for 28 minutes. Excellent and easy reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Made for first time for a party and it was the first dish gone. Many of the guests asked for the recipe. Made no changes, hubby asked for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Just what I was looking for. I left out the sugar, used a small, diced onion and sauteed it before adding it to the squash, which I had carefully drained well, thanks to the other reviewers' suggestions. Simple, comforting, good food. Next time I may use panko crumbs and cut the butter a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy, simple and delicious! I will note that I followed the directions loosely but used all the same ingredients. It's summer squash season in Texas and it was nice to find something different that even the kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States