Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a GREAT recipe! The one thing that I followed from other reviews is to make sure this is drained very well. I ended up mashing the squash in a strainer to get out the excess water in the squash. I also upped the cooking time to about 27 minutes to dry it out a little more. This tastes just like the squash casserole at a local restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I love the simple taste of yellow squash fresh from the garden, and this recipe lets that taste shine through. I pretty much halved this recipe(altho I used only 1 Tbs. of sugar and a light sprinkling of bread crumbs) and my husband and I ate it all. I heeded prior posts warning of excess moisture by mashing the squash in the collander, and it turned out with a nice texture - moist but not wet.It's a keeper - thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe - I steamed my squash and drained it very well. I used 1/4 c. butter instead of margarine. Will make a squash lover out of anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn R.
Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
When I read this recipe I thought it sounded too bland, but the other reviewers gave it such rave, I didn't change anything except to add a whole chopped vidalia onion. SCRUMCIOUS! Will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have made a casserole almost like this for years. My recipe is from a popular restaurant chain. It uses half the amount of butter and fresh bread crumbs and the crumbs go inside. Putting the bread crumbs inside helps to absorb the extra moisture and retains the vitamins that could be lost by mashing the liquid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Couldn't wait to eat the leftovers the next day! Really great recipe. I used sliced carrots instead of green pepper; I sauteed a whole videlia onion in lieu of small amount the uncooked chopped onioin the recipe called for; I melted the butter first (and drizzled some on top of the breadcrumbs before baking); and I added corriander and garlic to taste. Mine was not soupy at all like some of the reviews say. This was great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
We loved this casserole. We have made it several times this summer. The kids didn't eat it but it left more for us. My husband mixed yellow squash and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This was great! I scaled down to 6 servings and added cheddar cheese in with it! Could not have been easier. DEFINITELY will make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I always thought I hated squash. It turns out that I just never knew how to cook it. This is a delicious recipe. I forgot to add the sugar, but it tasted great to me anyway. I think I will add just a tablespoon of sugar next time to see if it tastes even better. Instead of bread crumbs, I used crushed walnuts and a sprinkling of parmesan. This recipe is good either as an entree or as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Everyone who eats this casserole loves it. My husband says it's the best "squash stuff" he's ever eaten. I'll take that as a compliment! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States