Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for! I made this casserole for thanksgiving and my husband and I loved it. I did follow some recommendations from reviewers and mashed the squash in the strainer to drain it better. I also added a layer of parmesan cheese before the bread crumbs. It did not come out too moist at all. In fact, it was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe for squash casserole if you are not looking for one with cheese! We enjoyed it but I think next time I will not include the onions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
yummy! i will leave out the onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This is THE BEST Squash Casserole EVER!!! I can't eat cheese so I was excited to try this...and then it was Amazing. The whole batch got gobbled up in one setting. This recipe will definitely be added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfairytalescomingtrue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Purvis, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I thought this recipe was wonderful. You really taste the squash. I followed the recommendations of the others by draining the squash- pushing down on it while in the colander. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
when cooking the squash, we added a little sour salt for a bit of bite; and then we thought we had bread crumb but they were full of weavels! so we subbed matzo meal, which always seems to be on hand, added a little bit of brown sugar, and some chopped pecans. the result was wonderful. but i would definitely use bread crumbs! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Steaming the squash helps with the moisture issue and retains the vitamin content in the squash. Mash them or not, the choice is yours. I sauteed the onion for added flavor; removed them to a bowl, added more butter to pan and browned the bread/cracker crumbs. This is an easy recipe to play with, should you choose. The base recipe is very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a GREAT recipe! The one thing that I followed from other reviews is to make sure this is drained very well. I ended up mashing the squash in a strainer to get out the excess water in the squash. I also upped the cooking time to about 27 minutes to dry it out a little more. This tastes just like the squash casserole at a local restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I didn't care for this recipe too much, although my husband liked it. It just tasted as if it were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
My husband had never had squash casserole before and he crinkled his nose like a 5 year old when I mentioned I was making it. He was sold after the first bite! He even bragged to his mom! Great recipe. I will definatley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States