Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a GREAT recipe! The one thing that I followed from other reviews is to make sure this is drained very well. I ended up mashing the squash in a strainer to get out the excess water in the squash. I also upped the cooking time to about 27 minutes to dry it out a little more. This tastes just like the squash casserole at a local restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I love the simple taste of yellow squash fresh from the garden, and this recipe lets that taste shine through. I pretty much halved this recipe(altho I used only 1 Tbs. of sugar and a light sprinkling of bread crumbs) and my husband and I ate it all. I heeded prior posts warning of excess moisture by mashing the squash in the collander, and it turned out with a nice texture - moist but not wet.It's a keeper - thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe - I steamed my squash and drained it very well. I used 1/4 c. butter instead of margarine. Will make a squash lover out of anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn R.
Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
When I read this recipe I thought it sounded too bland, but the other reviewers gave it such rave, I didn't change anything except to add a whole chopped vidalia onion. SCRUMCIOUS! Will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have made a casserole almost like this for years. My recipe is from a popular restaurant chain. It uses half the amount of butter and fresh bread crumbs and the crumbs go inside. Putting the bread crumbs inside helps to absorb the extra moisture and retains the vitamins that could be lost by mashing the liquid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Couldn't wait to eat the leftovers the next day! Really great recipe. I used sliced carrots instead of green pepper; I sauteed a whole videlia onion in lieu of small amount the uncooked chopped onioin the recipe called for; I melted the butter first (and drizzled some on top of the breadcrumbs before baking); and I added corriander and garlic to taste. Mine was not soupy at all like some of the reviews say. This was great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
We loved this casserole. We have made it several times this summer. The kids didn't eat it but it left more for us. My husband mixed yellow squash and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This was great! I scaled down to 6 servings and added cheddar cheese in with it! Could not have been easier. DEFINITELY will make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Everyone who eats this casserole loves it. My husband says it's the best "squash stuff" he's ever eaten. I'll take that as a compliment! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Steaming the squash helps with the moisture issue and retains the vitamin content in the squash. Mash them or not, the choice is yours. I sauteed the onion for added flavor; removed them to a bowl, added more butter to pan and browned the bread/cracker crumbs. This is an easy recipe to play with, should you choose. The base recipe is very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States