Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
5+ stars so yummy. I also drained the squash in a strainer and then smashed it part way there and the rest of the way in our mini chopper. I also reserved 2 tbsp butter and drizzled it on top of the plain bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
When I read this recipe I thought it sounded too bland, but the other reviewers gave it such rave, I didn't change anything except to add a whole chopped vidalia onion. SCRUMCIOUS! Will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I used this recipe for my family reunion. It was a hit. Many people asked me for the recipe and were surprised that it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Yum!! I used a little less margarine (maybe 5 Tbs.), boiled the squash and onions together, drained them well, then added a little bit of milk to my eggs. This reminded us of corn pudding. Sweet and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe - I steamed my squash and drained it very well. I used 1/4 c. butter instead of margarine. Will make a squash lover out of anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn R.
Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Couldn't wait to eat the leftovers the next day! Really great recipe. I used sliced carrots instead of green pepper; I sauteed a whole videlia onion in lieu of small amount the uncooked chopped onioin the recipe called for; I melted the butter first (and drizzled some on top of the breadcrumbs before baking); and I added corriander and garlic to taste. Mine was not soupy at all like some of the reviews say. This was great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I love the simple taste of yellow squash fresh from the garden, and this recipe lets that taste shine through. I pretty much halved this recipe(altho I used only 1 Tbs. of sugar and a light sprinkling of bread crumbs) and my husband and I ate it all. I heeded prior posts warning of excess moisture by mashing the squash in the collander, and it turned out with a nice texture - moist but not wet.It's a keeper - thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Awesome. The first time I made it, it was kind of watery, despite draining it. The second time I made it, I drained the squash well, mashed it, then wrang it out in a paper towel (the frozen spinach draining treatment ;)). Made it much less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was wonderful. I'd never made this before and took it to a family get-together. Everyone loved it. They all said I was in charge of this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
YUM!!! Some might find it just a tad too "sweet" for something not dessert, but if you don't mind things like sweet potatoes, etc. you'll like this. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States