Squash-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was a nice change to my usual squash casserole. I was a bit nervous with this combination of ingredients and squash but the flavor was wonderful. I thought it was going to be runny before I baked it but it turned out just right after cooking. I did have to add a little salt but my family really likes salt so that probably had something to do with it. Thanks for sharing this Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
With many recipes that call for stuffing topping, it works better to add that ingredient about half-way through the oven baking part. The topping doesn't need to "cook" and I've found it will sometimes get too hard/brown otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very good. Good flavoring. I sliced carrots and cooked them with the squash instead of grating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is awsome. The cream cheese really makes a difference. I served this at a Thanksgiving gathering and EVERYONE love it. They remarked it was "off the chain" This recipe is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEIFFER007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I really DID enjoy the flavor of this recipe. My hubby was helping me prepare some of the vegetables and failed to get the onions small enough, so that when we tasted the casserole they were still not soft and a bit too crunchy. In the future, I may sauté the onions to make them softer. I also used 1/3 fat cream cheese and noticed no difference between the regular and the less fat taste. I also ran out of regular yellow squash and threw in some butternut squash. BUT it still tasted yummy. Apparently one yellow squash only makes about one cup of cooked squash. Hope you will enjoy it! Carole Cummings...in Plano, Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaroleInDFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Saddle River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very, very tasty. Simple to make. I would say 45 minutes to cook though. Will make again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This was AWESOME! I didn't change a thing. I had SEVERAL people ask me for the recipe. Tip: I didn't know how much squash equalled 8 cups... it seems it's about 2.5 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Followed directions exactly and out of the oven came a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I have made this recipe twice in the last two weeks and my family loves it. The only thing I do differently is saute the onions and carrots first so that they aren't too crunchy, and I sprinkle water over the stuffing on top so it is not too crunchy as well. Other than that I stuck to it. You could even use zucchini or any type of squash in place of the yellow, and you could use different soups for something different. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it gave me a good way to use up my garden squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Squash is a favorite veggie for me, but not so for my husband. I'm always on the look out for a good recipe to entice him. This was it. He absolutely raved about this dish. I followed the recipe with only 1 substitution. I only had 1 can of cream of chicken, so I added 1 can of cream of asparagus. This is our new favorite squash recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States