Squash-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Followed directions exactly and out of the oven came a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
My family, including the kids, loved this recipe. It's a much lighter consistency than the usual squash casserole recipe that has the cheddar cheese base. If you don't use salt when you cook the squash, make sure you add a little to the mix. It sets best after the casserole has cooled a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I was surprised at how much flavor this had as squash doesn't really have much flavor. It is rich, though. I used cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken and it was fantastic. I think the next time, I will crush the crackers before spreading them on the bottom of the dish. I used about 7 cups of raw squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very delicious. Make sure you have enough for seconds. I have also gotten accustomed to the request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I tried this recipe for guests since it had consistently been 5-star rated. I'll admit I'm not the best cook but I usually don't fail this badly on a recipe. First, I was confused on the amount of squash to use. I had about 9 cups uncooked and it cooked down to about 6 1/2. Maybe that was my problem. I also chopped my carrot and onion in a food processor so maybe it was too finely chopped. Beyond this, I followed the recipe exactly. It was way too watery so I baked for 15 more minutes. Still mushy and too late to serve with dinner. I didn't think it tasted very good and the stuffing mix on top was too hard and crunchy. I don't know how I could have messed this up so badly but could use some advice. Also, would suggest better detail on the recipe, particularly on the quantity of squash and how to cook it. I blanched mine. And was I supposed to do something to prepare the stuffing mix prior to sprinkling it on top? I can't imagine that it was supposed to be as hard as little rocks! Sorry to spoil the excellent ratings, but this sure didn't work for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very, very tasty. Simple to make. I would say 45 minutes to cook though. Will make again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Squash is a favorite veggie for me, but not so for my husband. I'm always on the look out for a good recipe to entice him. This was it. He absolutely raved about this dish. I followed the recipe with only 1 substitution. I only had 1 can of cream of chicken, so I added 1 can of cream of asparagus. This is our new favorite squash recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This recipe is awsome. The cream cheese really makes a difference. I served this at a Thanksgiving gathering and EVERYONE love it. They remarked it was "off the chain" This recipe is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This was AWESOME! I didn't change a thing. I had SEVERAL people ask me for the recipe. Tip: I didn't know how much squash equalled 8 cups... it seems it's about 2.5 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was a nice change to my usual squash casserole. I was a bit nervous with this combination of ingredients and squash but the flavor was wonderful. I thought it was going to be runny before I baked it but it turned out just right after cooking. I did have to add a little salt but my family really likes salt so that probably had something to do with it. Thanks for sharing this Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States