Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the best yeast bread I've ever eaten. I used a cup of mashed leftover roasted butternut squash cubes that I had previously seasoned with thyme, salt, pepper and olive oil. Roasted squash is sweeter than boiled; I think that added to the flavor. The bread wasn't too sweet, however. I put all the ingredients into my bread machine and used the dough cycle. I needed to add 1/2 c more flour, but the dough still finished very soft/sticky. I formed it into a long loaf with as little handling as possible (didn't want to add more flour and wind up with dry bread) and baked it on a well-greased cookie sheet (I didn't use the egg wash). It came out so soft with a perfect crumb. This is a great recipe; thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this several times now and the family raves about it every time! Two loaves is not enough...all five kids and us two adults will eat those loaves in one sitting. They even ask me to make it more often. I have to buy a few squash and boil and mash to have on hand when you can't find it! Freezes good and tastes great every time!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This bread had wonderful texture, but it was a bit bland. I wasn't expecting it to taste "squashy" and it didn't. The one thing I've discovered about squash in baking is that it keeps the final product very moist and tender, not necessarily flavors it. Since that wasn't the goal, I wasn't disappointed that I couldn't taste the squash. I just thought the dough could've used more salt. I whipped up some maple butter to combat the somewhat tasteless bread and my double recipe (which I only made into two large loaves) disappeared faster than you can say "butternut squash." For texture alone, I will absolutely revisit this recipe, either adding more salt alone, or possible a little more sweetener also to make it into a sweet roll type base (filled or unfilled would both be good). Last thing - I used all whole wheat flour and this bread still had light and fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this vegan & it turned out great! I used egg replacer, soy milk & Earth Balance vegan butter. I added the picture (with the sriracha bottle in the background) for proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is my first yeast-bread experience. I usually make my bread in my handy dandy bread machine, but this looked so festive I had to give it a try. My mom walked me through kneading and explained how to braid it. I followed another reviewers suggestion and made a small sample roll on the side. Moist and mild, and very fluffy. Instead of two loaves I made one large, beautiful shiny braid. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Yum! A delicious twist to a traditional challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Was very easy and so yummy tonight at dinner. Everyone loved the sweetness and was alittle shocked there was squash in the bread. Will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have made this bread a couple of times and it is wonderful in appearance, flavour and texture. The braid makes for a great presentation and everyone raved about it at Christmas Dinner. I used a package of cubed squash from Costco and cooked it in the microwave which saves a lot of work in cutting and peeling. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe. I now have trouble keeping up with all the requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was easy, fun and delicious! It turned out perfectly, just like the picture. I will be making this again and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC
Living In: Townsend, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was a lot of fun to make, but considering the squash flavor is so subtle, I'd just as soon make regular bread and use my squash for something else. On the other hand, I think the squash gave this bread a nice texture if not flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States