Spruced Up Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Loved this! I'm always looking for new ways to gussy up mashed potatoes and this was pure fun. I had to reduce the serving amount so I simply used 2 large potatoes, a large handful of baby carrots, chopped, and a third of a head of cauliflower with 1 large clove of garlic chopped. I also used heavy cream (b/c I had some on hand) or my norm, 2% milk w/ the butter. Just fantastic...thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was okay...I might make it again, but play with the ingredients. I think it needed a little more flavoring...more garlic? And it makes A LOT of potatoes...more like 15-20 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Great flavor, quick and easy to make, and way more convenient than having to time/keep an eye on 3 pans of simmering veggies. I cooked the cauli and carrots in advance, warmed them quickly in the microwave when I was ready to use them, then added them to the hot potato. Couldn't have been easier. Thanks so much, Anne-Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
Picky veggie eaters don't know about the hidden ones in this recipe. Found them coming back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
We really loved these Potatoes, but next time I think I'll put some sour cream in them to cream them up a bit. But overall, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Cunningham Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful!!!I served this for Thanksgiving dinner, and now I will make them all the time. I used a food processor for the cauliflower and carrots, and a masher for the potatoes. I also, as someone suggested, added some sauteed onions,and just a little more butter, a little less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I added and mashed carrots amd some chicken base, also, incorporating two recipe ideas. Was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Excellent way to hide the veggies. I didn't think they were strong enough to stand on their own without gravy, so I added some bacon, sauted onions and mushrooms. My 4 year old complained about the carrot pieces, but never noticed the cauliflower. I have decided all of my potatoes from now on will have mashed cauliflower in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Great way of using up left-over cauliflower as well ! And makes the taters nice and fluffy, without having to add too much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
What an excellent, different twist to mashed potatoes! Fancy enough to serve company and doesn't need gravy. We all really enjoyed this and I look forward to making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States