Spruced Up Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
first i made the recipe as written and it was a little bland for me. i decided to add about 2 oz light cream cheese and some creamy horseradish then i emulsified it. with those changes i really liked it. love the idea of adding other veggies into mashed potatoes. i would recommend whipping them if you like creamy mashed potatoes. it does change the hue of course to more of a salmon color but i didnt mind that.served with meatloaf and japanese sesame green beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very good...the hubby had no idea about the cauliflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was very good. I did add a little more butter, just for us, and used whole milk because that was what I had on hand. I also used Yukons. This kept well in my crockpot for a couple hours until my ham was ready. My kids and husband had no idea they were eating cauliflower and carrots in their taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I'm teetering between 3 and 4 stars. I think I was expecting more out of this but it tasted like your average mashed potato to me. The color from the carrot was nice and it is an excellent way to use up some veggies that are on their last fibrous legs. Will most likely make again when I need to clean up the veggie bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was quite good! I added a little extra milk and butter as some people had suggested, and I added extra carrots and left some of the peel on the potatoes. I will be making this again. And I will never NOT add cauliflower to mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I added two cups of fat free sour cream. Next time I will put the cauliflower in the food processer before I mash it altogether. The hand beater doesn't break up the califlower as much as I wished it would and the end product was lumpy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Delicious! You can't even taste the cauliflower and the carrot is really mild. I also added a sweet potato, since that always makes any standard mashed potatoes much more awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Makes regular mashed potatoes not so regular. Kind of bland, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This recipe is a great idea, though mine ended up a little watery and flavorless, so I made the following important changes: I added condensed cream of mushroom soup for creaminess and flavor, more carrots, and threw peas on top for extra color and some more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
These are excellent! I like to use Russetss or Yukon Gold. They go great with the Easy Salsa Meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States