Spruced Up Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
We now add cauliflower to our potatoes when boiling. We left out the carrots since we didn't think that the kid would buy into the colors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great way to use up that cauliflower. Family loved it. Great recipe. Used Half and Half instead of skim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I thought these were fantastic.... the only thing I would change next time is to add the carrots to the water a little before the potatoes and cauliflower, as they always take longer to soften and didn't not break down so well when I used the hand-mixer. I only had about 3 pounds of potototes so I added the whole small head of cauliflower, along with the handful of baby carrots. I also used Smart Balance instead of butter. These potatoes were just perfect with "Turkey and Quinoa" meatloaf (on this site) for a filling, nutritious meal. Thanks, Anne-Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I scaled this down for 4 servings. I didn't have enough potatoes for dinner so I went looking for a way to make them stretch. This recipe did the trick, as I had plenty of cauliflower! I left out the carrots and added about 3 Tbsp. sour cream per some reviewers suggestion. My husband couldn't tell there was cauliflower in it! I used a hand held potato masher. Over mixing your mashed taters makes them yucky. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very, very good...I always substitute o.o. for butter...much healthier and not noticeable taste difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really liked this dish. I added 1/4 c. chopped onion to the ingredients. I fried 4 slices of chopped bacon until crispy and added it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is the best recipe for anyone who won't eat thier vegetables. My husband won't touch cauliflower at all. It was just us two so I used 2 large potatoes and half a bag of frozen cauliflower with no carrots. My husband gobbled this up and got seconds. I still haven't told him! I couldn't detect the cauliflower at all but I used an electric mixer and beat it until smooth. Thank you so so so much for this. I will be making this one regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
made these for Christmas dinner as I'm trying to eat more veggies and the texture/colour was right but the cauliflower made them a little more bitter than plain/regular mashed potatoes. Next time I'll add 1T of sugar to offset that. Will make again. Also, made with broccoli instead of cauliflower and added cream cheese instead of butter. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These were really good! Obviously better for you than normal mashed potatoes...I added parsnips and extra cauliflower. The only thing was the carrots were hard to mash. I used baby ones because thats all I had and they didn't want to mash, so they all sunk to the bottom of the pot. But still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made this a few weeks ago and it was easy and fast! I used baby carrot and it turn out just fine... easy way to get veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States