Spritz Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
These were light and crispy and worked very well in my cookie press. For those who think 3 cups of flour sounds like a lot, remember this recipe uses CAKE flour -- so you'll need the full 3 cups. If you use all purpose, you could get by with less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
If you're looking for the best Spritz cookie recipe, go with this one! I was making Christmas Spritz for the 1st time and wanted them to be fabulous. I literally looked at EVERY Spritz recipe on this site - sidebyside- with a notepad. I then made 3 different recipes that each varied by a significant ingredient or two. I brought the cookies around to kids and neighbors & had them 'vote. Without doubt these were the best!! They are light and delicious, DEF with the BEST flavor! They're like Danish cookies, but BETTER. (I used 1 c sugar and vanilla instead of almond. You can also tweak the butter and temperature to what works best for you.) This is the Spritz to go with!!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flygrrl40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
When we make these cookies I split the dough into 3rds and color 2 of them. One green and the other red. Then when I fill the cookie press I put a little green dough in a little of the plain dough in a little of the red dough in. Makes them more festive for Christmas. They mix as you press them out but it doesn't make them look like a red/green mess. Pretty cool the way they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas Center, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I liked this recipe, although, I'll admit I didn't actually follow it... My cookie press doesn't allow me to use refrigerated dough because it's motorized, so when i realized it wasn't quite firm enough, I simply added 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of sugar, and it came out perfect. People have raved how it isn't too sweet and isn't too chalky (like some other recipes I've tried) and the cookies come out a perfect white. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
Be wary when adding flour.....my mix seemed to have a tad too much flour...otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe! Although I did not chill it at all I just put it in the press at room temp worked wonderfully for me. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe! For those that haven't figured it out yet, don't let it chill quite as long as reflected in the recipe and the consistency will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlantaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I want to thank you for this recipe! I have been looking for this type of recipe for a while now. A long time ago when I was a child my mom and I would make this type of cookies. And now that I have my own children we now make this together! Again thank you from the bottom of our hearts. This had brough back alot of good memories that my mom and I had shared together!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYRA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
this has got to be the best cookie recipe that i DO NOT have to to wait and chill. i did change/add a couple of things though. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>[1] i didn't have cake flour so i used plain flour. 1 cup cake flour = 1 cup plain flour - 2 tbsp. of plain flour + 2 tbsp. of corn flour. [2] i didn't use butter, i used margerine. [3] i used 1/4 cups of icing/confectioners/powdered sugar and 2/4 of white sugar. [3] i added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract. [4] i baked it at 175 (degrees C) for 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginessa Alexay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Though this dough tasted good, it was IMPOSSIBLE to work with when it was chilled. Most cookie presses call for room temperature batter. I'm a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States