Spritz Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Dry and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These weren't bad, and I knew not to expect a super flavorful cookie, but I have to say these tasted like sweetened flour. I probably would have enjoyed them more dunked in tea, but as they were, they just weren't the cookie for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
The cookies were pretty good - I added another teaspoon on vanilla to boost the flavor. The dough was a perfect consistency for my cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I agree, butter is essential in this recipe. Because these are a little dry, we always frost them! I just use about 2 cups confectioners sugar and slowly add milk, a little at a time until it's the right consistency. Then I put about 1/3 cup in 4 different custard cups and add a couple drops of food coloring, and we have green, blue, yellow, and red/pink frosting. It's very easy then to decorate the cookies with sprinkles, dragees, colored sugar, etc. Even small children can help. Just give them a little plastic disposable knife for each color, and they will go to town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made Christmas Eve. They turned out very flat! I used 2 cups flour and one cup sugar. The cookies are very light/delicate. Would probably not make again. I will try recipe on the cookie press next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I didn't love these cookies, they turned out a little dry, which is definitely not what I remember eating every Xmas when I was little. I baked them for less time, and at a lower temp, still kinda dry, tasted a lot like sweet flour. Also, just a tip for a beginner Spritzer, ALWAYS use aluminum foil, or a pan that is NOT non-stick, if you use any type of nonstick anything, the cookies won't even separate from the press. I followed the recipe as stated, until the first batch came out very hard, that's why I lowered temp and time, but I wouldn't make these again, even after the adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is my first time making spritz cookies and using a cookie press (Pampered chef). The dough was so soft and easy to work with. I couldn't believe how perfect the cookies turned out. They have a very delicate, delicious flavor. I added only 2 cups of flour and added 1 cup of sugar. I think they turned out tasting perfect! These cookies are not bland; they're supposed to have a subtle flavor and a melt in your mouth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good. I mixed in the flour with my mixer and they turned great. It would be to much work to mix the flour in by hand. They turned out so well I'm going to make a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies have a nice texture and a nice light flavor, but I had trouble with these working in my press. I had to add a little milk to loosen them up. Update: I bought a new press this year - an old Mirro aluminum press on ebay - and the dough works just great without any modifications in this press. Last year I used a plastic Wilton, and it just didn't agree with my hands nor the dough. Changing this to 5 stars! Great flavor, delicate texture that melts in your mouth - not hard or too crispy at all. Great for my grandma who can't chew crispy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These cookies turned out great. I split the dough in half and added a few drops of food coloring to each half and they turned out very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States